We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best worst experience of my life” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vivaldi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivaldi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stadhouderskade 68, Amsterdam 1072 AD, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
“the best worst experience of my life”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

the first night we arrived the double room we booked was unavailable so we had to make do with a very small single room.
the second we got a double room in a different building which was part of the same hotel and it was filthy and damp with a massive puddle in the middle of the room. There was a sanitation pipe above our bed from the upper floors and when the toilet above were flush we heard the water flowing above us in the bed. we would not rate the accomadation and they charged us for this room 139 euro. so buyer beware. the only good thing was the location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    20
    34
    35
    77
See reviews for
12
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We picked this hotel as it was the cheapest one we could find with a lift. When we arrived we were a given a room in the hotel just down the road on the first floor. After explaining that one of our party could not use the stairs they swapped our room to a ground floor room without any trouble.
The staff we met were friendly and helpful. Towels were changed everyday. The room was small but it was not a problem, it was very clean and the bed was very comfy. Window latches were a bit dodgy but small windows up high so not really a security risk. Bathroom looked quiet new and the shower was very powerful and warm.
Breakfast was buffet of ham, turkey?, cheese, 2 breads, 2 biscuit things, 2 jams, choc spread, 2 fruit juices and tea or coffee. Breakfast room was very hectic and busy one one day but we went earlier the next and it was fine.
Hotel was in a good location with a tram stop a couple of minutes away and another across the road going on a different route. Small shops, bar and restaurants near by and a canal boat stop just over the road.
This hotel was basic but fine for a few days away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

Before going to this hotel I read reviews but ignored them because I assumed they were written by fussy people. I went with my friend for a girls weekend. We are both early 20s. When we went to check in they apparently had no record of our booking. We booked through icelolly. They weren't helpful and we had to sit for 2 hours on our own phones ringing the company. Finally they sent us to our room 3 hours after arriving. Which was in a hotel down the road. We could hear rats scratching away all night. The breakfast was terrible with little choice and no edible foodBecause we weren't booked on with them they had no vacancy for us for the second night so sent us to another hotel. The second was at least 2 miles away. We only went for 2 nights so all the phone calls and moving impacted our holiday badly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We only wanted a bed to sleep in, and though the room was TINY, it was clean and the bathroom was clean and quite modern too. For a weekend stay, it was everything we needed, we were positively surprised, after all, we paid very little.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hlittle3
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

So we got here after having to book this place after a mix up with dates in the hotel we were supposed to be staying at. Major stress. We only stayed here 1 night and i'm glad as it's not the nicest place! Some of the reviews say it's like a dorm- it's true, there are bunk beds in the rooms and you can't really pass it off as a hotel, it's like a basic hostel. but as I said we only stayed here for one night; the showers were hot, there was breakfast included, and we only used it as a base to sleep and we were so tired we would have had good "sleep quality" more or less anywhere. I will say that you can get better places for the same price, and minus bunk beds; like the amsterdam downtown hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

had concerns with this hotel about the size and security of the rooms. there was no need for me to be worried. i have paid more to stay in smaller rooms in this area. the rooms arent huge but they are big enough!

we were moved to the sister hotel although we'd booked the vivaldi (actually the card had been refused but the hotel told easytobook.com and somepone failed to tell us, so we didnt even really have a room but they gave us one at the same price, not many hotels would do that)

you get an electric key card for your room which logs whoever enters. so items are fine in the room, i left my netbook in there all week and didnt worry one bit. the wifif connection was free and working which was great.

the few bad points...im sure the beds were itchy...either not very good sheets or bed bugs. but if your not doin much sleeping it shouldnt be an issue. the breakfast is limited but as long as your ok with cereal for breakfast you can make sandwhichs for lunch :) they should get a toaster though....

main issue that i didnt find a mention of when booking.... this hotel(s) is NON SMOKING and they will charge if an alarm goes off. we smoked out the window all week and we could smell smoke from every room in the hotel but its still not the same as knowing your allowed to. the hotel never replyed to me before the stay either so next time i will call my hotel and check ahead of my trip.

so to conclude, this hotel do some things really well and fail on others. either way its a cheap room in a great location. ignore these reviews and try it for a night, see what you think!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

don't make a reservation because to not have a big surprize! they crash your money in your account in advance, don't respect booking conditions. !!!! smaller rooms, not clean at all !!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivaldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivaldi Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, Amsterdam 1072 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vivaldi Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vivaldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.