We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Indian meal to delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meghna

Meghna
Utrechtsestraat 28 | Harun Or Rashid Indian Cock Curry Depertmant Italian Permanent Resident Bd, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
00491639202423
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #829 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Indian meal to delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Meghna is located on Utrechtsentraat and near another very good Indian restaurant Tagore. It is a small restaurant serving Tandoori style food with a mixture of other delicacies. We had the lamb Kurma, which comes with basmati rice and could only describe the sauce as delicate with just the right amount of coconut. It is a mild dish that lets all the flavours come through. We also had the mixed Tandoori grill which was perfect and comes with salad. The cost with Nan, chapatti, two beers and two glasses of wine and tip came it at under €50. Could not be beaten!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very tasty food-kind people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

it was the first time that we taste indian cuisine...we liked it a lot !tanduri chicken was excellant!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average food, not really worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Simple restaurant, staff is ok. Hoped the food would be great, but it wasn't. We had a chicken curry which was OK, but not memorable and certainly not as good as some other Indian restaurants in Amsterdam. Other dish was shrimps with garlic, red pepper and onion which was also nothing special. The food missed the rich taste which you expect from the Indian cuisine. It was just spicy, but definitely missed FLAVOR. Even the garlic Naan (Indian bread). Also the mango lassi (yoghurt drink), I have had better. Quite a disappointing experience. If you want a quick bite, it's ok I guess. Next time I go to Koh-i-Noor and see how that is nowadays, because I love Indian food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chicken Tikka Masala - no good!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I love Indian food especially chicken tikka masala. I eat tikka masala everywhere I go. I searched online for Indian food before going to Amsterdam. I had marked the restaurants "Koh-i-Noor" and "Majur", on the map for myself to go. But either they were close for lunch or I was at another destination for dinner. Anyways I made my way to Meghna for dinner because it was close to my hotel. I asked for chicken tikka masala. I didn't like it. Service was okay, atmosphere was fine but if chicken tikka masala is not good then the restaurant is not good for me at all. I am not Indian but I have eaten "ctm" a lot in different countries. As far as I know the dish I have been served wasn't the real "ctm". Meat was barbequed but didn't have its unique creamy sauce which is made with yougurt. I asked the waiter if the dish was ctm. He nodded that it was ctm. I have experienced it before at different places. They claim that there are doing ctm from different part of Indian?¿ I don't believe in this answer so I didn't ask more to the waiter not to hear this answer. Finally, not a bad place but not for me. In my opinion Chicken Tikka Masala has to be done properly. If the ctm is good then the rest will be good :)

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food, friendly service - every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Used to live quite near this restaurant years ago - had dinner there almost weekly. Now I have moved away, but when I find myself in the neigborhood, I make it a point to have dinner there. Still great, still friendly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meghna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Meghna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meghna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.