We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De taart van m'n tante

De taart van m'n tante
Ferdinand Bolstraat 10, 1072 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-7764600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,073 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Café, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

In pleasant and original ambient with sympathetic staff we enjoyed delicious cakes.
We tried out several different cakes and all of them were fresh, tasty and nicely decorated. Keep in mind that prices are fairly high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A taste of old England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for cake it was amazing.

A quirky cake shop with lots of outside space.

The cake choice was good and they tasted divine.

Service was good and prompt, try to avoid Sundays as looked very very busy

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere, but accustomed to better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint and charming place for tea and desserts. The decor is funky and original and there is much to look at and take in. The desserts, however, are mediocre at best. I have no doubt the bakers are creative and talented, but as a dessert and sweet aficionado, I am used to baking at a slightly higher quality. Perhaps it's the difference in altitude and/or ingredients so I offer my feedback with a qualifier. Still worth checking out if only for the experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cakes, designed like a candy store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Cakes are Delicious and fluffy, with a fantastic design. Place very welcoming, you feel like a child again, and simply want to eat everything.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A perfect, pop break while visiting Stadsdeel Zuid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you intend to walk in the streets of Stadsdeel Zuid, don't miss De taart van m'n tante, their cakes are delicious (though huge and rich, beware; I simply couldn't have dinner after that cake...) and the atmosphere pop, light and cheerful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De taart van m'n tante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De taart van m'n tante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De taart van m'n tante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.