We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed excellent teas and delicious cakes.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De taart van m'n tante

De taart van m'n tante
Ferdinand Bolstraat 10, 1072 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-7764600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,128 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not to be missed excellent teas and delicious cakes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place is super busy and understandably so. All the chairs and tables are different, like someone's very busy parlor.
The cakes are seriously good, the Chocolate Cake and the cheesecake we would recommend highly. A really good selection of teas and friendly helpful staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    14
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I love sticking cakes into my face!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic selection of cakes in this quirky cake shop in De Pijp. Service could probably do with being a bit quicker/better, but apart from that tip top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Louis, MO, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly kitsch; great cake; slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The cake was great! I had the carrot cake and loved it very much. It was moist and delicious. The cappuccino was good too. The atmosphere is like an old woman's home with dusty fake flowers and mismatched furniture. I thought the prices were a bit high for the atmosphere. I expected them to be less but tasting the cake, you can taste that they are high quality and that is what you are paying for. Since I have sneezing spells from dust, this type of place makes me nervous but it was very good. I would return for the carrot cake but may take it to go...good experience overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very quirky furnished pastry shop with great cakes and a good coffee. The cakes are fantastic and it is hard to decided which one to choose. We would have loved to try them all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place victim of its success”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Too much people, nobody to drive you to a table. Coach destroyed. Good cakes but over priced. Better to go to another small cake shop and there are a lot in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De taart van m'n tante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De taart van m'n tante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De taart van m'n tante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.