We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly kitsch; great cake; slightly overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De taart van m'n tante

De taart van m'n tante
Ferdinand Bolstraat 10, 1072 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-7764600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,028 of 2,591 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Café, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
St. Louis, MO, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly kitsch; great cake; slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The cake was great! I had the carrot cake and loved it very much. It was moist and delicious. The cappuccino was good too. The atmosphere is like an old woman's home with dusty fake flowers and mismatched furniture. I thought the prices were a bit high for the atmosphere. I expected them to be less but tasting the cake, you can taste that they are high quality and that is what you are paying for. Since I have sneezing spells from dust, this type of place makes me nervous but it was very good. I would return for the carrot cake but may take it to go...good experience overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
at home
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very quirky furnished pastry shop with great cakes and a good coffee. The cakes are fantastic and it is hard to decided which one to choose. We would have loved to try them all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place victim of its success”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Too much people, nobody to drive you to a table. Coach destroyed. Good cakes but over priced. Better to go to another small cake shop and there are a lot in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Interesting cakes, so-so ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As we were in the area (just been shopping in nearby Albert Cuyp Market) and has heard of this "must see" camp and kitsch cafe, we popped in for a coffee and cake.

Have to admit that the selection of cakes on the menu was interesting, even amusing, although there seemed to be a lack of variety when it came to ordering. Two selected were gone and one of those we did get was the last piece (not the freshest).

Service was perfunctory, but maybe being there when it was 3/4 empty wasn't conducive to atmosphere and staff motivation.

Not convinced about how clean it was either - sticky tablecover, etc.

However, for a quirky little example of the sort of places Amsterdam offers, worth a look if you are passing by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Delicious cake, snarky service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had the best lemon tart of my life and my friend the chocolate mousse cake which he said was very nice. It was hard to enjoy the desserts though as the service we received was super snarky. The desserts were slapped down in front of us, some of my friends chocolate cake landed on my lap and the server saw it and walked away...I thought to grab more napkins...but no - just walked away.
We had tea, I ordered a side of milk - it never came.
I won't go back.
The atmosphere was cute - very kitschy...but a whisper on the sad and dusty side. This place needs an overhaul - staff included!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De taart van m'n tante also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De taart van m'n tante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De taart van m'n tante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.