We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam City B&B

Amsterdam City B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam City B&B to your Saves list
Amsterdam City B&B
Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I have spent at this b&b 3 nights, during the New Year's Eve.
We stayed at the first level, at the Balconyroom and we have had for us all the apartment, with the bedroom, the kitchen full of food and drinks (It hasn't been served the breakfast, because of the holyday period!), the bathroom and the toilet. We have been in a total relax and the privacy was at high levels. Good quality at a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010 via mobile

We stayed in the room April 23-27 2010. We had our own bath and shower plus use of the kitchen. Breakfasts were huge and delicious. This was not right downtown bit only 5 minutes by tram. We had total privacy and an added feature was a balcony off the room so we coil sit outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at this B&B in October 2009. We were in the Balcony Room, which is the only room on the second floor. The bed was very comfortable, we had our own bathroom on our floor, as well as access to the kitchen. Hansje was a wonderful hostess, and brought a wonderful breakfast to us in our room. The last morning we were there, we had to leave very early to catch our flight. The night before, she laid out everything for us in the kitchen so we could fix ourselves a quick bite before we left. How nice!
The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We had no issues with privacy, as mentioned by other reviewers. However, we only dealt with Hansje and did not ever see/hear anyone named Martin, so perhaps he was out of town during our visit. In any case, Hansje was a great hostess and did not invade our privacy at all. The room was also equipped with guidebooks and maps that we were free to borrow as needed.
Location is great - walking distance to nearly everything you'd want to see.
We had a great time, and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed here 4 nights in September. Hansje was very accomodating and friendly to us, even helping me halfway up the stairs with my suitcase. She allowed us leave our suitcases as we arrived very early from Seattle to Amsterdam. When we came back at 11:30 am our room was ready and we were able to take a nap before heading out to this wonderful city. YES, the stairs are quite daunting, and we were only on the first floor! 41 steps almost straight up! The bedroom is large and the separate private bathroom very modern with lots of lotions, towels etc. We also had a nice patio where we could sit outside. My only complaint about the room was that there was no place to put your clothes, just some hooks for jackets, so we basically lived out of our suitcases for 4 days. I realize it is very difficult to get furniture up and down stairs in Amsterdam, but an inexpensive shelf unit or chest of drawers would have been a welcome addition. Great breakfast, (brought to your room) coffee, two small bottles of wine upon arrival, use of a nice kitchen with large fridge, lots of travel books to peruse. We could walk to the Leidesplein, the touristy great people watching area, and the bus line to Centraal station is just at the end of the street. Good value and no complaints (except for the lack of space for your clothing). We did not experience any lack of privacy as earlier comments mentined. We were in bed most nights before 11 so we didn't have to worry about causing any noise either, as was also mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Yes, the steep stairs are daunting, but Martin carried our bags up and down the steps. The room - the one at the very top - was great. Very large with a small kitchen and eating area. As described here, the breakfasts were terrific. We had plenty for both breakfast and lunch - and still sent a lot of food back.
Martin leant us a good map and explained the trams and told us other, helpful advice. If you go, ask about the special flyswatter (by the way, we never saw a bug of any kind). We never saw Martin after breakfast so had no "privacy issues", but we never came in very late at night.
This is a great value and not far from other areas of interest. The tram is inexpensive and easy to use. If you're fit, try for the room upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

From the moment we arrived Martin was very kind and accommodating. His breakfasts were amazing!!! We were out all day but the time we spent at the B and B was very comfortable and cozy. The room was so clean and for the price it really was a steal. With the breakfast and the room quality it was pretty unbelievable. The bathroom was a nice size and clean. The bed was so comfortable. The location to the tram was very convenient and made our stay easier.
This was our first time at a bed and breakfast but having stayed in most 5 star resorts my life this was an excellent place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

The B&B was in a very good location. We tended to walk everywhere, apart from to and from the station with our suitcase. This was perfectly OK but our legs felt it by the third day.
We chose the B&B partly due to the price and partly because we wanted somewhere quiet. It fulfilled both of these requriements.
We stayed on the top floor which had a microwave and a sink. The stairs were very steep but made it part of the novelty of staying in an old Dutch house.
The breakfast was more than enough for several meals; the fruit juice was fresh and delicious.
Our problem was with the over-zealous behaviour of the host. We were asked for our payment every time he saw us, from the first time we set foot in the B&B. He also came out of his room every time we came in or went out we were pounced upon; although he was simply being friendly, it made us very conscious and guilty, even though we weren't doing anything wrong.
So, in summary, a good deal but marred somewhat by 'landlord-itis'.
Recommended with reservations - depends on how invasive you would find the attention.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam City B&B

Address: Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam City B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.