We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and great breakfasts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam City B&B

Amsterdam City B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amsterdam City B&B to your Saves list
Amsterdam City B&B
Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Value and great breakfasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed here 4 nights in September. Hansje was very accomodating and friendly to us, even helping me halfway up the stairs with my suitcase. She allowed us leave our suitcases as we arrived very early from Seattle to Amsterdam. When we came back at 11:30 am our room was ready and we were able to take a nap before heading out to this wonderful city. YES, the stairs are quite daunting, and we were only on the first floor! 41 steps almost straight up! The bedroom is large and the separate private bathroom very modern with lots of lotions, towels etc. We also had a nice patio where we could sit outside. My only complaint about the room was that there was no place to put your clothes, just some hooks for jackets, so we basically lived out of our suitcases for 4 days. I realize it is very difficult to get furniture up and down stairs in Amsterdam, but an inexpensive shelf unit or chest of drawers would have been a welcome addition. Great breakfast, (brought to your room) coffee, two small bottles of wine upon arrival, use of a nice kitchen with large fridge, lots of travel books to peruse. We could walk to the Leidesplein, the touristy great people watching area, and the bus line to Centraal station is just at the end of the street. Good value and no complaints (except for the lack of space for your clothing). We did not experience any lack of privacy as earlier comments mentined. We were in bed most nights before 11 so we didn't have to worry about causing any noise either, as was also mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Yes, the steep stairs are daunting, but Martin carried our bags up and down the steps. The room - the one at the very top - was great. Very large with a small kitchen and eating area. As described here, the breakfasts were terrific. We had plenty for both breakfast and lunch - and still sent a lot of food back.
Martin leant us a good map and explained the trams and told us other, helpful advice. If you go, ask about the special flyswatter (by the way, we never saw a bug of any kind). We never saw Martin after breakfast so had no "privacy issues", but we never came in very late at night.
This is a great value and not far from other areas of interest. The tram is inexpensive and easy to use. If you're fit, try for the room upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

From the moment we arrived Martin was very kind and accommodating. His breakfasts were amazing!!! We were out all day but the time we spent at the B and B was very comfortable and cozy. The room was so clean and for the price it really was a steal. With the breakfast and the room quality it was pretty unbelievable. The bathroom was a nice size and clean. The bed was so comfortable. The location to the tram was very convenient and made our stay easier.
This was our first time at a bed and breakfast but having stayed in most 5 star resorts my life this was an excellent place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

The B&B was in a very good location. We tended to walk everywhere, apart from to and from the station with our suitcase. This was perfectly OK but our legs felt it by the third day.
We chose the B&B partly due to the price and partly because we wanted somewhere quiet. It fulfilled both of these requriements.
We stayed on the top floor which had a microwave and a sink. The stairs were very steep but made it part of the novelty of staying in an old Dutch house.
The breakfast was more than enough for several meals; the fruit juice was fresh and delicious.
Our problem was with the over-zealous behaviour of the host. We were asked for our payment every time he saw us, from the first time we set foot in the B&B. He also came out of his room every time we came in or went out we were pounced upon; although he was simply being friendly, it made us very conscious and guilty, even though we weren't doing anything wrong.
So, in summary, a good deal but marred somewhat by 'landlord-itis'.
Recommended with reservations - depends on how invasive you would find the attention.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

I am finally getting around to writing a review of Hansje's property. We were so surprised with the quality of the place and its very convenient location. Once you learn how to use the trams and get a multi trip ticket from the Tourist Office at the Rail Station (1st floor) you have no problems getting around.

The B&B is very close to a traim station making it very easy to get to and to get around Amsterdam. Walking is another option as it is close to many attractions and Amsterdam is a lovely city.

Hansje is very welcoming, and helped us navigate the stairs to the top floor unit. It is very spacious and the extra bedroom allowed us to leave our bags there and not clutter the main room. As mentioned before it has a small kitchenette and bathroom. The bathroom has everythig, from shampoos to cleaners etc.

The breakfasts are huge and Hansje provided plastic bags to allow you to take the leftovers (and there will be leftovers) with you for lunch. We were able to make enough breadrolls for the two of us as well as our two friends. That was after haveing eaten what we wanted for breakfast. Hansje even gave us two bottles of wine when we arrived.

He is a font of knowledge about what to see and eat in Amsterdam. We were asked to not make a lot of noise but this did not pose a problem and we had no issues with this. The stairs are a challenge but only when arriving. After that they are a bit of exercise because you are out most of the day.

I was delighted with the price and the quality and would definately stay here again.

Allan

  • Liked — Quality for price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Yes there are steep stairs and yes there are issues regarding privacy but having said that the welcome and attention to detail of Martin was second to none and at a very reasonable price. Breakfasts were superb with fresh orange juice and enough meat, cheese, croissants, bread rolls, yoghurt's and conserves to satisfy anybody. We stayed on the first floor room but had access to Martins kitchen to make ourselves a drink at any time. Martin provide loads of local information as well as restaurant recommendations and The Rough Guide to Amsterdam is there for guests to use.

If we go back to Amsterdam, which we hope we shall, we will book Martin's B&B again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2008. We had the studio room at the top which had its own kitchenette, a small spare room, and a bathroom. It was fine. The only major problem was the 56 VERY steep stairs and, as others have said here, the need to be quiet late at night or early in the morning. That being said, it was a fine location in terms of being relatively close to the center and right off a tram stop. We easily walked or took the tram everywhere. The breakfast was great and Martin packed a to-go box for us the morning we flew out as it was quite early. It was getting a bit cold and the first night he didn't turn on the heat, saying "it's not cold" but the next night he did as he saw we had to pull extra blankets out of the closet. Food was good, beds were comfortable, Martin had some good recommendations on restaurants, a good map, etc.

Overall this property was fine, but the number of steep narrow steps and the need to be ultra quiet was a drawback. Also was a bit stingy with towels and heat. Otherwise, fine place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,430 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam City B&B

Address: Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam City B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.