We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location, overall great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam City B&B

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam City B&B to your Saves list
Amsterdam City B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam City B&B
Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location, overall great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

From the moment we arrived Martin was very kind and accommodating. His breakfasts were amazing!!! We were out all day but the time we spent at the B and B was very comfortable and cozy. The room was so clean and for the price it really was a steal. With the breakfast and the room quality it was pretty unbelievable. The bathroom was a nice size and clean. The bed was so comfortable. The location to the tram was very convenient and made our stay easier.
This was our first time at a bed and breakfast but having stayed in most 5 star resorts my life this was an excellent place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

The B&B was in a very good location. We tended to walk everywhere, apart from to and from the station with our suitcase. This was perfectly OK but our legs felt it by the third day.
We chose the B&B partly due to the price and partly because we wanted somewhere quiet. It fulfilled both of these requriements.
We stayed on the top floor which had a microwave and a sink. The stairs were very steep but made it part of the novelty of staying in an old Dutch house.
The breakfast was more than enough for several meals; the fruit juice was fresh and delicious.
Our problem was with the over-zealous behaviour of the host. We were asked for our payment every time he saw us, from the first time we set foot in the B&B. He also came out of his room every time we came in or went out we were pounced upon; although he was simply being friendly, it made us very conscious and guilty, even though we weren't doing anything wrong.
So, in summary, a good deal but marred somewhat by 'landlord-itis'.
Recommended with reservations - depends on how invasive you would find the attention.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

I am finally getting around to writing a review of Hansje's property. We were so surprised with the quality of the place and its very convenient location. Once you learn how to use the trams and get a multi trip ticket from the Tourist Office at the Rail Station (1st floor) you have no problems getting around.

The B&B is very close to a traim station making it very easy to get to and to get around Amsterdam. Walking is another option as it is close to many attractions and Amsterdam is a lovely city.

Hansje is very welcoming, and helped us navigate the stairs to the top floor unit. It is very spacious and the extra bedroom allowed us to leave our bags there and not clutter the main room. As mentioned before it has a small kitchenette and bathroom. The bathroom has everythig, from shampoos to cleaners etc.

The breakfasts are huge and Hansje provided plastic bags to allow you to take the leftovers (and there will be leftovers) with you for lunch. We were able to make enough breadrolls for the two of us as well as our two friends. That was after haveing eaten what we wanted for breakfast. Hansje even gave us two bottles of wine when we arrived.

He is a font of knowledge about what to see and eat in Amsterdam. We were asked to not make a lot of noise but this did not pose a problem and we had no issues with this. The stairs are a challenge but only when arriving. After that they are a bit of exercise because you are out most of the day.

I was delighted with the price and the quality and would definately stay here again.

Allan

  • Liked — Quality for price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Yes there are steep stairs and yes there are issues regarding privacy but having said that the welcome and attention to detail of Martin was second to none and at a very reasonable price. Breakfasts were superb with fresh orange juice and enough meat, cheese, croissants, bread rolls, yoghurt's and conserves to satisfy anybody. We stayed on the first floor room but had access to Martins kitchen to make ourselves a drink at any time. Martin provide loads of local information as well as restaurant recommendations and The Rough Guide to Amsterdam is there for guests to use.

If we go back to Amsterdam, which we hope we shall, we will book Martin's B&B again.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2008. We had the studio room at the top which had its own kitchenette, a small spare room, and a bathroom. It was fine. The only major problem was the 56 VERY steep stairs and, as others have said here, the need to be quiet late at night or early in the morning. That being said, it was a fine location in terms of being relatively close to the center and right off a tram stop. We easily walked or took the tram everywhere. The breakfast was great and Martin packed a to-go box for us the morning we flew out as it was quite early. It was getting a bit cold and the first night he didn't turn on the heat, saying "it's not cold" but the next night he did as he saw we had to pull extra blankets out of the closet. Food was good, beds were comfortable, Martin had some good recommendations on restaurants, a good map, etc.

Overall this property was fine, but the number of steep narrow steps and the need to be ultra quiet was a drawback. Also was a bit stingy with towels and heat. Otherwise, fine place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Just got back from a two night stay. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Breakfast was great. Its about a 30 minute walk to the center.

Privacy is a real issue with this B&B. We stayed in the unit that overlooked the canal. You have to go up 2 floors of steep steps to reach the room. Walking even in socks disrupts the owners who live in the unit below. A window next to the sink has no curtain, so anyone can look into the entire room and watch you.

Martin is very nice, but 2-3 times a day knocking on the door to see if everything is ok is disruptive. We made sure to be for the night before 11:00 pm not to disrupt Martin and his wife.

Would probably stay somewhere else next time to have more privacy.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room and breakfast.
  • Disliked — No privacy, window without curtain in hallway, having to be extremely quiet.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Just stayed here for 3 nights. We had the Balcony room which faces the backs of other houses and so no views over the canal.

The issue with this room is that it is on the 1st floor-up 39 steps from the front door. But the people staying on the top floor pass straight outside your bedroom. Not a problem you may think, except the toilet is on the other side of the corridor and the private bathroom is 10m down the corridor. Not exactly the most private of set ups.

Martin also lives on this floor and so we were always very conscious about making a noise when we got in late or needed the loo during the night.

The breakfast was excellent and the beds very comfortable.

It is a little way from the centre of the action but we did see a part of town which we would otherwise not have been to and have to say we really enjoyed the area.

Overall it was an "OK" stay but the privacy issues put a downer on the trip somewhat.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Privacy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam City B&B

Address: Da Costakade 68, 1054WP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Amsterdam City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam City B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.