We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts and huge apartment with canal views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tulipa B&B to your Saves list
Tulipa B&B
Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic hosts and huge apartment with canal views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I booked for Kings day 2014 (it was my 50th birthday!) and the location was ideal for the party atmosphere. A few minutes to the Leidseplein with its bars and shops, our apartment was huge with quirky retro furnishings combined with period charm and amazing views over two canals. Our hosts were really charming and very accommodating when my adult sons decided to stay over too at the last minute. Paula even brought me a candle in my banana pancake and sang Happy Birthday to me... can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: If you like something a little different with a retro feel and lots of space, the apartment with can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Perfect location!! Hosts were both very warm and welcoming, and had great recommendations on what to see, where to eat... Fantastic B&B, breakfast was delicious, loads of variety! Bedroom was big, relaxing layout, had everything you would need, TV, dvd player, fridge, coffee machine...

Room Tip: Stayed in the garden room, large, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in a spacious 2-room apartment with high ceilings overlooking a canal.
Fantastic location, museums and restaurants are within a short walk.
Exceptionally kind, hospitable and genuinely helpful owners.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This lovely canal house bed and breakfast was perfectly placed in a quiet street, yet close enough to the centre for us to reach all that Amsterdam has to offer including the museums,canals and restaurants.
We stayed in the garden room which very was spacious,high ceilings,vintage furniture and very comfortable and the complimentary wine and beer was a pleasant surprise.
The breakfast was superb with fresh fruit,cheeses and meats,eggs,smoked salmon and pancakes,all served in a room overlooking the canal.A fantastic way to start the day.
Our hosts were very welcoming extremely helpful with top tips on where to go and restaurants to try, with the two that we went to being great recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble and they even kindly printed out our boarding passes for our flight home!
We would highly recommend the Tulipa for a special weekend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The garden room is at the rear of the house and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful b&b was the perfect place for us to explore the city from. Really close to the museums and near enough to the centre to enjoy the stroll back and forth. Quiet spot yet close to the action. Our room (the garden room) was so comfortable - a real home from home!

We stretched our budget a little to stay here but it was worth every penny and II'm very glad we did.

Breakfast was delicious and Paula and Jan were great hosts - thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, België
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Everything was top in this lovely B&B. Welcoming hosts, 5-star breakfast, lovely room with vintage interior and king size bed. All in a central location of Amsterdam. We would like to come back some time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our family (2 adults and 2 year boy) stayed here for a week in November 2012. It was the first stop after flying straight from Australia and first impressions with the owners was such a welcome experience. They knew we must be tired and showed us around the lovely room (on ground level with bedroom below down a little set of stairs that they had specially toddler proofed). The next day incidentally was our sons birthday and they had put balloons and made him a special seat at the breakfast room - such a nice surprise. Breakfast was great with all the Dutch specials and other items and the view from the breakfast room over the canal throughout the November cold fog was beautiful. The hosts are wonderful (a Dutchman and English lady) and will help out on anything and have great advice on directions and attractions. Will go back soon.

Room Tip: Basement bedroom is very quiet with upstairs living room for TV, couch etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulipa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa B&B

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tulipa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulipa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.