We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top breakfast, room and hosts and great with a child” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa B&B

Save Saved
You added Tulipa B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tulipa B&B
Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top breakfast, room and hosts and great with a child”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our family (2 adults and 2 year boy) stayed here for a week in November 2012. It was the first stop after flying straight from Australia and first impressions with the owners was such a welcome experience. They knew we must be tired and showed us around the lovely room (on ground level with bedroom below down a little set of stairs that they had specially toddler proofed). The next day incidentally was our sons birthday and they had put balloons and made him a special seat at the breakfast room - such a nice surprise. Breakfast was great with all the Dutch specials and other items and the view from the breakfast room over the canal throughout the November cold fog was beautiful. The hosts are wonderful (a Dutchman and English lady) and will help out on anything and have great advice on directions and attractions. Will go back soon.

Room Tip: Basement bedroom is very quiet with upstairs living room for TV, couch etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was a beautiful, large suite in a small, family run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

The welcome was very warm, the hosts were very helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and different every day.

We asked for the canal view and it was definitely worth it. The three full length windows offered lots if light and a spectacular view, especially in the evening whilst enjoying the complimentary wine and beer.

While this is relatively expensive, we thought it was good value for money and would recommend it to those looking for a good base for exploring Amsterdam.

Thank you Paula and Jan!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am overdue in writing this review since my stay was back in October 2013. The unit far exceeded my expectations. I was travelling with another couple and we wanted separate rooms, which can be quite pricey in Amsterdam. We certainly lucked out with Tulipa. The first floor had two huge bedrooms that were very comfortable. Paula prepares an amazing breakfast each morning and provided perfect recommendations for our short visit to Amsterdam. I would recommend Tulipa for anyone's visit as it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I spent 48 hours in Amsterdam Thanksgiving weekend. I loved my time here! Amsterdam is an easy travel city with friendly people & beautiful places. The Tulipa is centrally located and accessible by public transportation.
Paula & Jan are gracious, welcoming hosts with great tips on getting around. The room I stayed in has amazing views & was very comfortable. The pictures are exactly as I experienced. It was my first time in Amsterdam & I will return.
Highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: The stairs are a bit tricky the first time up & down, but I got the hang of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were a family of four adults and my granddaughter and stayed two night's. We stayed in a family room that had two queen beds and a single. It was one very large room that had room divider for privacy if you wanted. Paula met us when we arrived and was very accommodating. She gave us a map and made suggestions for things to see and do along with how to use the public transportation. The nice thing was how convenient the location was to use public transportation to get anywhere we wanted to go. If we were to go again I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Tulipa is very conveniently located in Amsterdam. The owner Paula is very nice, kind and welcoming. She met us the first day, with maps and recommendations as well as a warm smile. we stayed in the family apartment with a kitchen and 2 large rooms and it was very comfortable. The breakfast was nice as well but I'd rather try Greenwoods for the second day. We'd recommend Tulipa for its location and welcoming atmosphere. I am not sure whether it is possible to find an equivalent with a more affordable rate, but you can try. If you decide on Tulipa though, you will not be sorry, it is a good choice.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view, ours had none, it was a bit depressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our 3 night stay at Tulipa in Sept. Paula and Jan were such gracious hosts! Jan provided a map and an overview of the city, directed us to a wonderful neighborhood restaurant- and patiently made some phone calls to help us straighten out our troublesome international phone service ! We enjoyed a hearty and delicious breakfast each morning, and particularly enjoyed complimentary Heineken Beers overlooking the canal on our little balcony shortly after arrival! The accommodations were perfect, with a spacious modern bath and very comfortable bed. The location is ideal. Quiet, but a very short and pleasant walk to Leidseplein and tram stops. We highly recommend Tulipa and hope to return sometime soon. Amsterdam is such a beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulipa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa B&B

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Tulipa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulipa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.