We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Canal B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa B&B

Save Saved
You added Tulipa B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulipa B&B
Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canal B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location, walking distance to most attractions and there are tram stops close by if you need them. Had a beautiful well appointed room overlooking the canal which is what Amsterdam is all about, really beautiful at night when all lit up. Lovely breakfast including fresh fruit plate and yummy breads. We had an early departure and Paula made us a lovely breakfast to go and organised a taxi to the train station for us. So we enjoyed great personal service and beautiful accommodation.The steep stairs to the rooms would be an issue if you have mobility problems but they took our bags up and down for us which was great and if you want the typical Amsterdam experience all canal hotels would be similar. Would recommend Tulipa to anyone wanting a comfortable and true experience of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
85
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My boyfriend and Parents arrived on friday 21st after an obscene early start from blighty and Paula (hostess with the mostess) greeted us with a very welcome cup of tea. although we were not meant to check in until 2pm we were able to go in our rooms from 10am. the rooms are lovely and retro. The place was cute and had bags of character. The beds were very comfortable, b&b was pristine in reference to cleanliness. The baths were huge. You could come and go as you please. We really enjoyed the breakfast, nice and healthy. Paula was always willing to accommodate if you fancied something different to what was on offer. The main plus was how centrally located we were- everything was walking distance. Paula was more than happy to help with info on attractions, drawing on maps etc. One thing that i'd especially like to compliment Paula on is the fact that we were able to stay after check out as we flew home later. she could accommodate us as nobody was staying that night. I bought an umbrella and was advised not to fly (as only had hand luggage) with it again, paula being the sweet person she is offered to send it to me as opposed to the airport confiscating it. Another great touch was a 'birthday pancake' which had a sparkler in the shape of an 'L' for me. Hurry and book! you won't be disappointed! The service was second to none and you'd have to go a long way to beat it!

Room Tip: apartment on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Tulipa with another couple a month ago and had a great time. It is centrally located to most attractions that are within an easy walk. The breakfasts were fantastic. And Paula was a great help in recommending things to see and places to eat. If we are back in Amsterdam we will definitely stay at Tulipa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

All the reviews below mine convey our stay at the Tulipa, hosted by Paula, perfectly - it was fantastic!

To the advice prior to arriving on places to go and booking tickets in advance, to restaurant and places to go recommendations. Don't miss the apple pie experience - Paula will explain!

Great canal view room, with all the small details thought of. We can't recommned highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pre-arrival communication and transportation information was very good. The bus from the airport drops you a short walk from the door. Paula met us on arrival and helped with local insight into our agenda. Her restaurant recommendations in a nearby neighborhood were excellent. The canal suite is up a double flight of stairs and the bath is up another somewhat steep flight of stairs, but I think this is typical of Amsterdam. The location is a short walk to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Concertgebouw but feels more like a neighborhood than a tourist area. Tram stops are close by to take you around the canal ring or straight through the city to Centraal station. The canal view suite made us feel like we were staying at a friend’s nicely appointed apartment. Breakfast includes an assortment of fresh fruit, cheese, artisan breads and one of Paula’s specialties like omelets or banana pancakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tulipa and the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The canal suite was the size of an apartment with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the at Tulipa for two days.
The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, between the Jordan area and the Museum area. I have visited Amsterdam a couple of times and this is one of the best place to be.
Plus it has a very easy access to the rest of the city thanks to a convenient Tram station very close.
Host are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and definitely made of quality products.
The room was lovely, with a tasty decoration and lot of space on two levels.
Plus some small details such as the complimentary red and white bottles of wine or the Nespresso coffee machine. Small details but make you feel at home.
Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Tulipa in late November, and can not recommend the B and B enough. Up until now we have always stayed in hotels but because of the great ratings and price we decided to go for this B and B. We were not disappointed. Arriving earlier than expected the room was ready and we where greated by the owner Paula who was very friendly with loads of advice for our stay. The room was the standard river view room but was large, perfectly clean and comfortable. We could not have wanted more. I really like the little touch of having dvds available to watch when you want some down time. The location of the B and B is just right, within easy walking distance of everything. We missed breakfast the first morning but managed to get up at a sensible time the second day, with everything supplied that you could need. We had a great time and if we visit Amsterdam in the future we would not hesitate to stay at this great b and b again. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulipa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa B&B

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Tulipa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulipa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.