We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B&B in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulipa B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tulipa B&B to your Saves list
Tulipa B&B
Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class B&B in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

All the reviews below mine convey our stay at the Tulipa, hosted by Paula, perfectly - it was fantastic!

To the advice prior to arriving on places to go and booking tickets in advance, to restaurant and places to go recommendations. Don't miss the apple pie experience - Paula will explain!

Great canal view room, with all the small details thought of. We can't recommned highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
96
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pre-arrival communication and transportation information was very good. The bus from the airport drops you a short walk from the door. Paula met us on arrival and helped with local insight into our agenda. Her restaurant recommendations in a nearby neighborhood were excellent. The canal suite is up a double flight of stairs and the bath is up another somewhat steep flight of stairs, but I think this is typical of Amsterdam. The location is a short walk to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Concertgebouw but feels more like a neighborhood than a tourist area. Tram stops are close by to take you around the canal ring or straight through the city to Centraal station. The canal view suite made us feel like we were staying at a friend’s nicely appointed apartment. Breakfast includes an assortment of fresh fruit, cheese, artisan breads and one of Paula’s specialties like omelets or banana pancakes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tulipa and the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The canal suite was the size of an apartment with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the at Tulipa for two days.
The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, between the Jordan area and the Museum area. I have visited Amsterdam a couple of times and this is one of the best place to be.
Plus it has a very easy access to the rest of the city thanks to a convenient Tram station very close.
Host are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and definitely made of quality products.
The room was lovely, with a tasty decoration and lot of space on two levels.
Plus some small details such as the complimentary red and white bottles of wine or the Nespresso coffee machine. Small details but make you feel at home.
Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Tulipa in late November, and can not recommend the B and B enough. Up until now we have always stayed in hotels but because of the great ratings and price we decided to go for this B and B. We were not disappointed. Arriving earlier than expected the room was ready and we where greated by the owner Paula who was very friendly with loads of advice for our stay. The room was the standard river view room but was large, perfectly clean and comfortable. We could not have wanted more. I really like the little touch of having dvds available to watch when you want some down time. The location of the B and B is just right, within easy walking distance of everything. We missed breakfast the first morning but managed to get up at a sensible time the second day, with everything supplied that you could need. We had a great time and if we visit Amsterdam in the future we would not hesitate to stay at this great b and b again. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Tulipa from 28th - 31st March in the canal view room. We found the hosts, Paula & Jan, friendly and helpful especially with their suggestions for meals out and transport information. Breakfasts were very good with a selection of cereals, cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt. Paula also cooks a fresh egg dish each morning, we had an tasty omelette and also smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Rooms are a good size, large comfy bed and a large modern bathroom with separate shower and cool double sink. Unfortunately we had snow and it was very cold during our stay so the balcony seating didn't get used as much as we'd hoped! We went out to the Gashouder one evening so knew that we would miss breakfast the next day - Paula left fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola and fresh milk in our room so we could get some vitamins when we finally woke up, a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Tulipa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Situated between the museum district and the 9 streets, this guest house offers ease of access to all the sights of Amsterdam. The owners are very friendly and offer good advice on sights to see and places to visit. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is fresh and prepared on order.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous weekend break in Amsterdam for my husband's birthday. The Tulipa lived up to its 5 star rating on Trip Advisor with excellent personal service. Paula and Jan, our hosts, were very attentive from their initial greeting with tea and coffee and a quick guide to Amsterdam and all it had to offer, to advising and booking restaurants for us and generally being very plesant, accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room (canal view) was lovely, spacious, nicely decorated, immaculate and the large bathroom was very clean and modern. The large bed was very comfy and it was nice to be able to sit at the small coffee table and chairs, looking out of the beautiful huge canal house windows over the canals watching the hustle and bustle of Amsterdammers. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary mini bar. The breakfasts were lovely, plentiful and varied with a different hot dish each day. We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one day and pancakes another, delicious! Even the retro detailing in the breakfast room was a delight, including an original fully working iMac! Would definately recommend Tulipa and Amsterdam- but watch out for the cyclists, they don't take any prisoners!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulipa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulipa B&B

Address: Leidsekade 75, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulipa is beautifully situated on the Leidsekade allowing the most picturesque views of the Amsterdam canals. Our carefully furnished rooms offer all the facilities of a five-star hotel, but with that extra personal touch. Tulipa's location is a perfect starting point for any visitor. The Leidseplein with its theatres, bars, nightclubs and restaurants, the Museumplein with its famous museums and the PC Hoofdtstraat for incredible shopping are all within 5 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tulipa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulipa Bed And Breakfast
Tulipa Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulipa B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.