We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De knijp

De knijp
Van Baerlestraat 134, 1071BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
020 - 6714248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #428 of 2,526 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Seafood, Bistro, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Museumplein
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

As per previous reviews, we were not disappointed with this restaurant. We arrived at 8.30 and the pre-theatre diners had left. The place was quite quiet with only another four tables occupied. We shared a bruschetta starter which was excellent then had a salmon and steak dish. The house wine was very good and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    68
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant (but Museumplein neighborhood prices!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I have eaten at Knijp many times - and like it every time. The food is well done, the service super friendly, and the atmosphere laid-back. Perfect place for a good meal in the Museumplein neighborhood without securing a reservation ahead of time. But note that it's casual, pub-like atmosphere can be deceiving; the prices are not cheap and reflect the neighborhood. Expect between 18 and 23 Euros per main course.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Weekend break Feb 14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had to make advance booking for this one as it has a healthy clientele from concert goers but our wait was well worth it. The atmosphere, the staff, the food not to mention wine & liqueurs were all excellent and made for a memorable experience. Another venue we won't miss if we can help it next time we are in this great city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just as all the other reviews said, everyone was friendly and took great care of our group of 7 work mates. Thank you Anika, Pieter & Nicole! Even more important, the food was delicious! Try the creamy garlic snails with mushrooms, venison carpaccio or goats cheese salad - all starts were great. I had a gratinated tenderloin which was melt in your mouth perfect. Nice Spanish Toro & Rioja + muscato & port topped off the meal. Definitely will come back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have had 2 wonderful experiences in this restaurant lately. One with a large party of 14 people, some coming at different times during the evening. Another with a smaller group of 6.
Both were excellent.
The management is very friendly and accommodating.
The food is of excellent quality.
Menus are in English if you need them, service is great.
Overall a great dining experience to be fully recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De knijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De knijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De knijp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.