We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value restaurant near Museumplein” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De knijp

De knijp
Van Baerlestraat 134, 1071 BD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
020 - 6714248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 2,580 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Grill, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant near Museumplein”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This, like the nearby La Falote, was recommended by our hotel receptionist and after walking past it on our first night we went here on our second - principally because I fancied steak and chips! We were eating around 19.30 and the downstairs was empty, but we could see other diners upstairs so decided to give it a try. In fact my steak, which I'd asked for medium rare was one of the best I'd ever had - pink all the way through, and so tender I wish I'd gone for rare or even blue! The atmosphere was good, and service friendly and efficient; it's also open till midnight, later than La Falote, so useful if you want to dine later.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    78
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must be an 'in' place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A Dutch member of our who knew Amsterdam team organised a dinner here so it must have a good reputation - very good for a group, we all had a good dinner with drinks and coffee, although I am sorry to say I cannot remember what any of us ate!.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was in Amsterdam over the weekend with my boyfriend and we were so hungry we asked the taxi driver to recommend us somewhere, so he took us to De Knijp and it was absolutely amazing. The food came quickly, staff were so friendly and the food was so so good. It's a nice cosy intimate restaurant and I would highly recommend, very affordable too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Museum District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a good value for your money place. Not fancy but traditional Dutch interior. Service good. Food good. We went after 8 and there was lots of room. It stays open really late so you can go there after a concert at the Concertgbouw which is nearby. It is usually packed on concert nights but after 8 everyone is gone. We went once and then went back because we liked it so much. Look for Pete the waiter and tell him we recommended him and De Knijp as promised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent wine choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

+
large menu
weekly suggestions with wild menu
excellent red house wine
friendly service
quality food (rather small portions)
excellent desserts

-
early closing time

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De knijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De knijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De knijp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.