We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiva Indian Restaurant

Shiva Indian Restaurant
Reguliersdwarsstraat 72, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
0206248713
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 2,402 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best Indian Restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This restaurant is located in a very central spot, right next to Rembrandtplein. Great food, great service, quite large portions. A great choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“100% satisfaction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hands down the Best Indian food to be had in Amsterdam!
Delicious, Pure, fresh, authentic Indain cuisine cooked from the heart.
The way "perfect" food should make you feel: content, nourished and energized.
For starter dishes: their home-made pumpkin and Dal soups are superb, as is the "shiva special" (a selection of all their starters). Some favourite meat dishes here: butter chicken, lamb Vindalu (spicy!) and the fish Makahni with panga filet.
For vegetarians: the dal tarka is fantastic, as well as the Saag Panir, Baigan Bharta, Panir Butter Massala and Vegetable Korma dishes in particular.
The ambiance is peaceful, cozy, and inviting. Suitable for people dining on their own, couples, families and small groups. The service is friendly and attentive. As with all Indian food that is freshly prepared, keep in mind it takes time to prepare! I come here multiple times a month for either take away, or to dine in...the food is addictive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good variety, budget friendly, great flavors. Very friendly staff. Simple small space but bold flavors abound. We walked by on the first pass down the small street, but we are glad we stopped in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant either vegetarian or not. DELICIOUS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have been there 4 th time. And I always go back cause have the best rates for the best quality. I would eat daily in that place. Is so healthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Finding a good authentic Indian restaurant in Amsterdam can be tricky.... There are lots of Indonesian places disguised as Indian restaurants - but if you like curry - proper Indian curry - then this is the place to go.
Polite staff, reasonable prices and excellent food. I advise you book in advance as this place is always busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiva Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Shiva Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiva Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.