We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, quite far out of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #153 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, quite far out of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here as part of a Contiki tour - the rooms were very good, with excellent bathrooms, free wi-fi, and good range of TV channels. The restaurant buffet was basic, but good - both dinner and breakfast.

This hotel is a 20 minute tram ride from the centre of town, so it's probably not suited for city breaks or romantic getaways, and in fact it seemed to have a number of other large tour groups there as well.

There were a few bars across the road, but no real nightlife to speak of in the local vicinity. Overall we were happy with the quality and standard of this hotel and it's facilities, though as I mentioned it's quite far out of the city so that's something to consider.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    479
    181
    50
    47
See reviews for
153
373
58
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

me and my friends went to amsterdam for five days, we stayed at blue square hotel, my room was very nice and had lovely view! It was clear and cosy! The breakfast was very tasty! I recomend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2009 whilst going to Amsterdam for the Sensation White festival with a group of friends.

The reception staff was friendly and reasonably quick to check us in, and the hotel lobby was filled with tourist brochures which kept us occupied until the arrangements were finished. After checking in, the concierge gave us a map of the area, and also wrote on the back the tram and bus numbers we would need to take to get to and from the hotel to the major points of interest. Apart from this, I didn't have any other interaction with the hotel staff, as we didn't have breakfast there, nor did we request/use any additional services.

The rooms which we had booked were meant to accommodate 4 people since we found this the most cost-effective solution for our group needs, and I was quite surprised to see how big they actually were. I never felt cramped at any moment during my stay, although I shared the room with three other friends. The beds were very comfy and large enough event to fit two people, and I didn't have any complaints about the sleep I got whilst staying there. The roomed looked very clean and the furniture was nice-looking, although not remarkable in any way. There was a pretty large flat screen TV on the wall opposite to the beds, however most channels were in Dutch. There was also a pay-per-view system, but watching TV did not interest me too much so I don't know other details about this. There was also a coffee maker available, however I didn't use it since I preferred sitting at a cafe downtown. The bathroom was spacious enough, had a big mirror and included a hair dryer and slippers (which I liked a lot), however the lighting was a bit too dim for my taste. The room had a view towards the side of the hotel, but there wasn't much to see except a portion of a canal that ran nearby.

The hotel is located somewhat far from the city center, in the western side of the city in a pretty quiet neighborhood. To get downtown, there is a tram which comes every ten minutes or so, and takes you to Dam Square in about 20-25 minutes. There is also a market right between the hotel and the tram station where you can get just about anything from food to clothes, should one require such.

The hotel had an an excellent value for money in my opinion, and it actually exceeded my expectations in terms of cost-quality ratio. The downside to this factor was the distance from the city center, however if you're willing to save a bit at the expense of a 30-minute tram ride, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at the Blue Square Hotel. At first we were a bit worried about the distance from central Amsterdam but the tram goes past the front of the hotel and it takes 20 minutes to get into town. With a 3 day, unlimited travel ticket being 15 Euro, this was not a problem at all.

The hotel had free wi-fi which was fantastic. It made keeping in touch with friends and family so easy and convenient.

There were a couple of eating places nearby but not many. However, with the convenience of the tram this didn't matter because getting into central Amsterdam was so simple.

The hotel had a small bar, open every night and I have to say, it's the cheapest hotel bar in all the places of have stayed worldwide. About .4.50 Euro for spirits with a mixer.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was very quiet and the hot breakfasts were fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.

The people who complain about the location of the Blue Square should remember why they stayed there. Because hotel of the same quality in central Amsterdam are very expensive and so they looked for somewhere cheaper. The Blue Square is cheaper because of it's location but the quality makes up for the distance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterbury, ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were stuck in Holland over the Easter weekend. We decided to leave our industrial town and head to Amsterdam. Trying to be mindful of our company's expense we decided to stay outside of the city. We chose Ble Square because it sounded like a good alternative. Not so. The neighborhood is very diverse to say the least. There were NO resteraunts at all. The hotel resteraunt is ok but limited. Our rooms were on the street and it was very noisy. I would not recommend this hotel as an alternative to staying in city center. Do your research and you can find something downton for sure. We actually didn't save any money because we had to take the bus back and forth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham south yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

To get to this hotel is easy, a choice of two trams that leave from Amsterdam centre to 50 yds from hotel, or get off the train from Schipol airport at Sloterdjik station and get a number 19 bus to hotel... The hotel is in not a bad area, there are some good shops , a few cafes , an Aldi supermarket and an outdoor market all within 200yds ... you can buy what you need at half the price of Amsterdam city centre shops...The hotel is not in a tourist area so you will not find any "coffee shops" closeby, if you want to purchase cheap alchohol for your room then just nip up to Aldi.
The buses and trams run every ten minutes into Amsterdam city centre and after midnight there is a "night bus" ... all details will be given to you by the very helpful staff on reception..
The foyer of the hotel is very attractive, marble floors and walls, the bar and lounge is modern and comfortable, there is a lift and stairs to all floors. Our room was lovely with one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in ! flat screen tv , tasteful furniture and a very good large shower in the bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities are also provided.
The breakfast is excellent, hot and cold help yourself buffet with cereals and fruit juice and a variety of breads, definately no complaints there !!
On our arrival we were presented with a voucher that gave us free meals on the night of our arrival in the a la carte restaurant to the value of 22 euros each, the food was lovely , i had rack of lamb and my husband had sea bass as our main courses..
If you dont mind the twenty minute tram ride (you can buy a card for 7 euros) which is excellent value, and can be used for multiple journeys then i would definately recommend this hotel, you get so much more value than staying in Amsterdam centre and paying a fortune for a room the size of a postage stamp...
Including flights from Birmingham and two nights in hotel plus free dinner and excellent breakfast we paid a total of £100 each which for Amsterdam is pretty good .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Our family (2 adults & 2 Children) stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour for 1 night. Our room had 4 single beds and was huge. The bathroom was also very big. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with plenty of food. Would Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.