We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in amsterdam by car and the underground parking is very secure and convenient. Staff at the check-in was very friendly and they gave us good guidance on how to travel from the hotel to the city. The location of the hotel is not good at all. No restaurants whatsoever around. However, it's very easy to commute by tram or bus to city centre and it's only a 15 minute ride. The tram and bus stop is only 1 minute walk from the hotel. We had a twin room and it was spacious enough to put the cot for the baby. Room was clean. The next day, when we came back to our room, it was not cleaned. We arrived at 5:00pm and somebody had eaten our food and taken a cup of tea. We had a clean set of towels but the bed was half done, like if someone had taken a nap in our room and eaten all our food. We immediately called the manager and they apologized. They said they had issues with cleaning staff and that it would never happen again. We were offered a room upgrade along with a free dinner. The dinner was terrible. The cheese on the beef carpaccio starter had blue mold and the beef was frozen. Of course they offered us another starter. The main dish was ok. Overall, the hotel is good, we probably had bad luck on our stay. Parking is great, very good buffet breakfast, nice rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    448
    164
    45
    42
See reviews for
145
342
56
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Of our trip to Europe, which includes Paris, Zurich, Stockholm, Venice, Rome, Florence and Amsterdam, the stay in BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel is the best and very convenient. This hotel is very much near to public transportation and there is a straight bus to Airport. The rooms are of good size, clean & comfortable and the bathroom and shower are spotless.

The hotel staffs were nice and always ready to help and they offered tips to use the public transportation. We didn't opt for the buffet and hence will not be able to comment on it. And I should definitely say about the WiFi which was super fast and again the best.

Overall a nice and comfortable stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road to get a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel itself is literally a big blue square, not picturesque and the area it is in is not the nicest. No good restaurants or cafes nearby, either had to make do with the poor quality restaurant in the hotel itself, or go on the tram to the city centre. The rooms were clean, but small. Served the purpose as a comfy bed for the night.
It's location is slightly inconvenient, when we booked we didn't realise it was roughly a 15min journey by tram to the city centre, and working out the way there on the bus was interesting but not too complicated.
No real big negatives, but just not what we were expecting, and the dinner service could be improved.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor, as the big windows look directly over a public footpath, we weren't sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's location is decent as we didn't pay for a taxi once in Amsterdam, we got the bus to and from the airport and the bus/tram in to amsterdam everyday. As for the hotel it's cheap and cheerful really. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the rooms are tidy but a bit dated which really didn't bother us. We paid for breakfast which was basic but as we aren't really fussy, we just had grabbed something we liked from the buffet and got on with the day.

We bought a bus/tram ticket for our duration at reception which probably saved us a lot of money, it cost about 15euros and lasts a week. Just make sure you get the right bus/tram and get off at the right stop! If I can remember correctly the stop for the hotel is something like 'slotenmeer'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

cool stay thanks. close to puplic transport. next to small shopping center. nice room, but small but ok for the price. WIFI was quite fast. Would come again. Restaurant is a bit expensive , but overall i would come again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I chose this hotel for its proximity to Sloterparkbad where I was attending an event. As a seasoned traveller, I researched everything from accessibility, distance to city centre, transport, previous reviews and best price via various search engines and websites before booking.

This hotel is a good mid-range chain hotel situated in a residential area with very good transport connections to the city centre (Trams 7 and 14) and the airport (Bus 69 or 369). Tram and Bus Stops are within walking distance. Staff here are friendly and helpful. The bar in the lobby is small and functional. Bedrooms are spacious and clean, showers are a good size and spotless. Free Wi-Fi a bonus! Breakfast is a serve yourself buffet, with a good choice of cheese and meats, sliced fruit as well as cooked fare. Bakery items plentiful as well as the customary do it yourself toaster. Cereals were limited to 3 which was a bit of a let down for someone who likes just simple Cornflakes rather than museli or sugared cereals, which weren't particularly free flowing from their containers.

Plenty of supermarkets and bakeries nearby to stock up with food and drink before heading out for the day. At the end of the day there are a couple of bars and restaurants nearby if not eating in the hotel. Having dinner at the hotel didn't fit with my own plans, albeit the dinner menu looked quite enticing and was competitive with others in the area and indeed in the city centre.

A tip on the transport side - research well the museums and sights you want to see before being lured into buying a combination museum and transport ticket. The museums included may not be the ones you want to see, as there are only a selection not all! Good value are the 24, 48, 72 hour tickets for buses and trams which can be purchased at Amsterdam tourist office at the airport and at the Central Station. Also look at the hop on hop off canal bus which is a relaxing way to travel and see a bit more of the city from a different perspective.

Room Tip: Although I didn't hear any noise, its always good to ask for a room at the back of this hotel fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed there a couple nights earlier this month. Did stay a few years ago and that was better. Service was average, room was decent, but far over priced for what it was. Breakfast was a winner though.

Room Tip: We stayed tucked away in a corner room somewhere, it was still quite loud from the cleaners slamming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.