We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little away from City Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little away from City Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just come back from spending a few days in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel. The Hotel is a little bit out of the centre but easily reached by tram number 14. The Hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of warm and cold food. The only thing that the hotel got wrong was I asked for twin beds and we got a double - good job I have known my friend for a long time ||||

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    400
    149
    40
    36
See reviews for
131
305
52
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here during our visit to Amsterdam. The Hotel was good, clean and the service was prompt. It is a budget hotel and we had been there on a deal that was available then. I loved the view from the room and the amazing clock bell in its adjacent compound. What was difficult was the fact that it is outside the city centre and that made it affordable though. All the same it was within close proximity of the tram line and bus routes. Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your review.
It is nice to rwad that you liked our 'nest' :)
hope to welcome you again in the future.
For available dates please contact us directly.

best regards,

Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked the hotel for a 2 nights stay. Overall the stay was ok. Check in took some time because there were only 1 person at the front desk. Our key card did not work 3 times and we had to go the front desk everytime which was inconvenient. Room was neat. I asked for a double bed during reservation but instead found the room with 2 single beds. Although they were joined, there was still gap in the middle. We were a couple so it was a big inconveince.

There is nothing around the place and its quite far from the city. Connectivity to the city was good. The room had no fridge or ironing. There was a kettle for coffee but the coffee cups were not clean. There was a tv in the room with cable, but it was a pain to operate it. Wifi worked great.

Overall the stay was nice but the hotel is definetely not a 4 star.

Room Tip: Book a hotel in the city center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Location - a little outside the center within close proximity of stops for trams and buses.
excellent Rooms, good view of the road.
All staff are very co-operative, professional and serve with smile..

Room Tip: Ask for a Higher floor for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giuliano Milanese, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good service and location (modern rooms perfectly cleaned), good price if compared with very high prices of the hotels in the city center, but quite far from it (around 20 minutes) and from the airport (40 minutes). Bus stop in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Laura,

thanks for your comment. We are happy to read to you had a good stay with us.
Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently spent 5 days 4 nights @ this hotel , it is about 20 mins from centre of Amsterdam, but we enjoyed using the public transport system, Hotel is near to 2 trams( 7 & 14 ) & 1 bus route ( 21 ) and we were able to catch nos 69 bus directly from the airport, which took approx 25mins. Hotel was comfortable and the room we had was cleaned daily and was decorated nicely. We booked Hotel with breakfast offer, there was a good choice and plenty of it, cookrd well, a good start to the day. Would return to this hotel in future. Better value for money when you stay out of the centre of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel overlook a small lake & away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Jeff,

we are delighted to read that you had a good stay in our hotel.
In case you return to Amsterdam feel free to contact us directly for available dates.


Best regards,

Best Western PLUS Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of our Contiki tour adventure. Hotel is comfortable and clean. Rooms are small which is not really a problem as we were hardly in the rooms. Coffee shops and laudromatt nearby. Food for me was bland. Nice location, easy to travel if using public transport and not far from red light district and pubs!

Room Tip: Book ground floor to be safe - only one lift was working and apparently thats the norm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.