We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay for a city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good stay for a city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is a great find. Very easy to get to from the Airport, get the 69 bus to the front door pretty much. Took around 30mins and is only 2.80€. The hotel itself is what you can expect from a big chain, was very clean and friendly. We turned up a few hours early for check in as our flight was an early one, but this was no worry as they had a room ready for us which was great after getting up at silly o'clock.

The Breakfast was great, both continental and english breakfast was on offer. Do try and get down before 10 and it can get a bit busy then you have to wait for the refills etc. The staff were also very friendly and helpful throughout the trip.

The hotel is about15/20mins by tram to the city centre which is nice and easy. You can get either Tram 7 or 14 from outside the hotel depending on where you fancy going in Amsterdam. I recommend getting a 3/4day pass for less than 20€ as it will save you a lot of money and you can use it on all buses and trams.

Overall a very very good trip and i would recommend this hotel greatly and Amsterdam also.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    460
    168
    46
    44
See reviews for
146
354
58
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have just come back from our trip to Amsterdam and it was great and the hotel was lovely. It was really clean and the staff were really friendly. The breakfast was great. Yes it is outside of the main town but the trams are so easy we found it interesting taking it through the different areas. We used the number 14 every day and we were never waiting more than 5 minutes. We ate dinner at the hotel on our last day, it has a chinese theme through the meals, it wasn't the best but it was fine for what we wanted. There were areas in the room that looked a bit shabby but nothing that a lick of paint couldn't cure. All in all a great trip and we will definitely go back to this hotel again. The only thing I would say about amsterdam in general is that the food and drinks are quite pricey and in most places it was €15 for one beer and a wine. So make sure you take enough money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I really liked the staff .very friendly specially smile from the restaurant staff.I spoke to an indian working in that restaurant very friendly and a small chinese guy in the kitchen.
front desk staff is always helpful in giving you information.they have maps n point out to right directiona dn easy n cheaper options too.
I love the location there is small fruits shops in 2 min walk .right hand side of the hotel and easy way to get to city center is 14 to dam square and 7 back to hotel I saty for three nights and cant complain nice english braeakfast and fresh juices.
price is reasonable too it take 20 to 25 min to dam sqaure and tram every 10 to 15 min infront of hotel.
i will be back def next time to same hotel.
i booked a single room and I was not happy with the size and just complained next day they gave me a double room with no extra price. hope this helps you.
they even provided a mobile charger but we need to pay 5 euro deposit which will be returned when u give charger back.

Thanks
Kiran

Room Tip: ask in desk for anyhelp they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel at a fair price. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom immaculate. Buffet breakfast had a decent range of food. Well pleased with our stay. Easy to get to centre and airport from here via trams and bus's. 30 minutes to airport on number 69 bus. 20 minutes to centre of Amsterdam via number 7 or 14 Tram.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon.UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in March. The hotel was easy to get to from the airport, the 69 bus which took around 40 minutes, dropped us a few yards from the hotel. The trip to the center of Amsterdam was only about 20 minutes by tram. We had a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the canal, which was very quiet. As is usual on the continent the double bed was two singles pushed together, but were comfortable. My only complaints were the duvet that hardly covered my bed so kept slipping off during the night as I turned over. However, my partner did not have this problem, so perhaps I tossed and turned a lot. The other complaint was the two square pillows, which were too small if placed on top of each other, and if placed side by side meant that your head kept falling between them. The hotel provided a very good buffet breakfast with a large selection, which was included in the price we paid. We did try the evening buffet on the first night, but found that the hotel was full of teenagers attending some sort of European swimming event, which meant that the buffet only offered chicken, fish. and chips or salad, and a very good apple pie. I felt that 21Euros was expensive for what they offered. The hotel was clean and all the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear it will be quieter than those facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Get what you pay for! Old hotel that's needs modernising in many ways. Missed a few hotel comforts that we're used to like a metal tea spoon, English breakfast tea bags (they only had earl grey!) and no milk! Just coffee creamer as they call it. A powdered cream. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here two nights, away from amstradam city area. we had booked 3 rooms and were traveling with our friends. We had booked double rooms and had got confirmation of the double rooms. when we arrived they said the hotel was full and only twin beds were available. I was surprised as amount was paid in full and we had confirmation that our double bed rooms were confirmed. the Rude staff said sorry we cant build extra rooms for you over night. we don't expect this from a prestigious brand...rather than apologizing they were rude and said take what we have. Please be very careful while selecting this hotel, The lockers were not working and also the breakfast was lousy. When I wanted to complain and asked the staff for the Manager's number. Gm's No. they just gave me a general email and said you can email. morning we received a letter stating that we were given better rooms with bath tubs... really?

Room Tip: if you choose this hotel be ready to travel 30-40 min to the city by tram/bus, also please take emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. Your opinion is valuable to us and helps us to improve our product.
I would kindly like to inform you that the extact room type is always on request.
Indeed the roomtype you requested was smaller than the room you stayed in.
We offered you a room change for the next day but you indicated at the front desk that this was not necessary anymore.
Our front desk staff is trained, valued and rewarded for their high service standards always with the goal to deliver a pleasant stay to each guest. My apologies if you experienced differently.

For any additional info you can contact us directly at +31-205063717
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.