We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Nice Indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just come back from a pleasant 3 night stay, and we could not fault this hotel. We new it was not central but planned accordingly. as per T/A advice we purchased our 72 hour bus and tram tickets at the airport for .16.50 euros and got the number 69 bus down to the hotel. about every 15 mins during the day and 30 mins after 6. Doing it this way you effectively get your transfers for nothing as you can use the pass straight away, and you will normally be coming back to the airport before the 72 hours are up. As it was dark we told the driver where we were going and he said he would tell us when we got there. I had noted on google earth the bus stop was called lodewijk van deysselstraat, and when we got there he had not said anything, but when I queried it he said he was dropping us off at the door, which he duly did, even though it is between stops. What service! The hotel is very good with excellent staff. our bathroom was a bit cramped but lovely fittings and big shower with plenty hot water. the bedroom was fine with comfortable beds. tea and coffee, and a free safe. We had breakfast included, and it was very good. No fried eggs but lovely scrambled, boiled , bacon, sausage, and a good selection of cereals and fruit with delicious bread. The bar area is quite small and not used an awful lot. The no 14 tram passes the hotel and goes by Anne Frank House on its way to Dam Square and Rembrant Square, which we found to be one of the main places for eating and drinking. We made very good use of the tram system to get around and up and down to the hotel, especially as we cant walk as much as we used to and had a very pleasant visit indeed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    461
    169
    47
    44
See reviews for
146
356
58
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January and thought it was brilliant. The airport new exactly what bus we needed to take to get straight the the hotel and it's no more than 3 euros. It's about a 20 minute ride. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy and the staff are extremely helpful. If you simply ask them where u want to go they will show you best route to take and give u a map of where to go. Very helpful. You can get the tram or bus straight into dam itself which takes 10/15 mins but doesn't seem that long. Hotel provides discount travel cards for as many days as you need at very good prices. The rooms are kept clean and tidy and are also very roomy. Breakfast is good a wide range available including full English breakfast. Would recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here last May for 3 nights and found the stay good. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff at the reception desk were very helpful. The hotel is not close to the city and the main sights but the tram links are good so that was not too much of a problem. There is a bus connection to and from the airport which was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this excellent hotel. It is a tram ride (13 or 14) away from the centre, but only takes 15 mins.
All of the staff were attentive, informative and very professional.
We had an evening meal at the hotel and we would fully recommend the food - it was truly excellent and the carafe of wine was the cheapest we paid all weekend.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice depending on your taste.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel overlook the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A 20 minute tram-ride to Dam square, but good value. Clean rooms, very good breakfast and helpful friendly staff members.
It's worth while to pack up for day trips into the city, as the ride to the hotel and back is not a simple skip, but the city is very easy to get around, so that proved like a lot of fun any way!
A good place to stay if you want to save some money :)

Room Tip: Any room is good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We got this hotel as part of an Easyjet package & we were pleasantly surprised. Good size room & facilities, and staff were great, very helpful & approachable! Only downside is location. It's about 25 mins on tram to centre of Amsterdam and about the same to the airport. But travel passes can be picked up fairly cheaply & used on all transport which is quite regular so we were happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

very clean. pretty good location. easy access to city.

TRAM 14 towards FLEVOPARK - that takes you too amsterdam square (you can get anywhere from here easily.

TRAM 14 towards SLOTERMEER - that takes you from the centre back to the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.