We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 fantastic days in Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4 fantastic days in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent hotel, truly good value for money. I'm 18 and stayed here late Jan 14 with my boyfriend for 4 nights and it was an excellent base from which to explore the city. The trams and buses are frequent and very easy to use, going fairly late into the night for those of you who are also keen to sample the nightlife!
Kind and welcoming staff, good breakfast, clean room although the windows were very dirty- a shame because we had a nice view of the canal.
I would (and have!) recommended this hotel to a friend- do not be put off by its distance from the centre!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    386
    141
    38
    35
See reviews for
120
294
51
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in November, we arrived in the evening and took the bus directly from the airport to the hotel, buying our 4 day travel tickets from the tourist information centre in the airport. We were worried about missing our stop but after about 10-15 minutes on the bus we saw our hotel, not hard to miss because it's big and blue) and got off at the stop just around the corner.
The staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with a map of amsterdam and an information sheet on which trams to take to get to different sites. Our room was a nice size, clean, with nice toiletries and an in-room safe. We had breakfast each morning (its cheaper if you pre-book it at reception the night before) There was plenty provided, both hot and cold and there is something to suit everyone, definitely enough to fill us up before a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

What a fantastic stay we had, on arrival the reception staff were ready to help straight away and gave us information and maps on the local area and what we could do. The were on the first floor in a three bed room facing the lake and it was beautiful to wake up to every morning. The room was tidy and spacious and had everything you needed only downside is that we now find our own bed a massive disappointment because the beds at blue square were so unbelievably comfortable you just sank into them and had a great nights sleep. 2 English channels on tv which was great. They gave us new towels, toiletries and toilet roles in a bag every day as we put the do not disturb sign on to enjoy a sleep in. We didn't use the restraunt at night but we did have breakfast included in our stay which I think was pretty good don't get me wrong the bacon and sausages ect isn't your full English but I guess your in a different country you shouldn't expect it, anyway I got by just fine on the croissants, muffins and jam on toast. All in all this was a fantastic stay in Amsterdam made by the hotel being so comfy and friendly. Ideal location for a 15 minute tram ride into Amsterdam. Quiet and laid back atmosphere but with elegance and class aswell.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have lake view and waking up to the sun on the lake in the morning is beautiful. Tripl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

+ Great value
+ Good clean rooms/bathroom and everything worked
+ Car parking
+ Friendly staff
+ Good breakfast

- Location, bit out of town.

So overall a positive experience. Would I stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Located around 20 minutes from City Centre by tram, hotel was modern and comfortable the rooms were large and clean. We opted to book breakfast on our two night stay after reading reviews, slightly disappointed with the hot buffet option simply because it wasn't hot more luke warm however the continental option was extensive so all in all was good value. We have stayed in several Great Western Hotels and they never fail to offer good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Blue Square Group of friends came with me, had lots of fun; was a boiling hot summer, so AC was good inside with a boiler room outside. Just be careful about some of the stores in the neighbourhood that may try and scam you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a contiki tour in December 2013. Had a single room. Bathroom very modern and clean, bed super comfy and thermostat/air con was great - very important during the winter!!

It seems far out of town but only a 10 min cab ride from the red light district and city centre. Amsterdam is a surprisingly small town!!

Breakfast was great. Probably the best one we had in all of Europe. Serving a full hot breakfast including bacon and eggs is a rare thing on the continent!!

Good security, you must swipe your card to get into the area where your room is and then again to get into your room. Although this was a bit difficult with lots of luggage!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;