We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Grantham
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Functional and very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

+ Great value
+ Good clean rooms/bathroom and everything worked
+ Car parking
+ Friendly staff
+ Good breakfast

- Location, bit out of town.

So overall a positive experience. Would I stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    461
    169
    48
    45
See reviews for
146
358
58
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Located around 20 minutes from City Centre by tram, hotel was modern and comfortable the rooms were large and clean. We opted to book breakfast on our two night stay after reading reviews, slightly disappointed with the hot buffet option simply because it wasn't hot more luke warm however the continental option was extensive so all in all was good value. We have stayed in several Great Western Hotels and they never fail to offer good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed at the Blue Square Group of friends came with me, had lots of fun; was a boiling hot summer, so AC was good inside with a boiler room outside. Just be careful about some of the stores in the neighbourhood that may try and scam you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a contiki tour in December 2013. Had a single room. Bathroom very modern and clean, bed super comfy and thermostat/air con was great - very important during the winter!!

It seems far out of town but only a 10 min cab ride from the red light district and city centre. Amsterdam is a surprisingly small town!!

Breakfast was great. Probably the best one we had in all of Europe. Serving a full hot breakfast including bacon and eggs is a rare thing on the continent!!

Good security, you must swipe your card to get into the area where your room is and then again to get into your room. Although this was a bit difficult with lots of luggage!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Got a special deal through Wowcher, for a 2 night stay in Amsterdam, staying at the Blue Square Hotel.

Yes, the hotel is out of town, but it literally takes 15-20 on a tram and its nice to sit and watch the scenery as you travel through the various streets. We got tram number 13 from Dam Central which dropped us off just round the corner from the hotel. You can also get tram number 14 from the bottom of the street back into Dam Central. When we left the hotel to go back to the airport, we caught the 69 bus which took about 30 mins.

Check-in was quick and efficient (dont forget you have to pay local taxes when you arrive, but for a 2 night stay, our "bill" was 3 euros!!). Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the canal.

Room was spacious, nicely furnished and the bathroom was huge, clean and the shower was lovely. Hairdryer in the room was also good. The beds were like a memory foam and were very difficult to get out of every morning, they were so comfy!!

We paid for breakfast upfront (it wasnt included in the Wowcher deal) for 10 Euros (I think it was 12.50 Euros if you didnt book in advance)...restaurant is nicely laid out, with a choice of fruit, croissants, toast, continental or hot (bacon, sausage, eggs, mushrooms). The orange juice was really tasty...like they'd freshly squeezed a load of oranges!

All in all, for the money we paid, the hotel was lovely. If you want a hotel nearer town, then this probably isnt the hotel for you. But we quite liked being a little bit "out" of town.

Would definitely stay again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, the rooms were nice and fairly standard. The staff were helpful providing direction for the handy tram/bus service to downtown and airport, both about 20-30 min travel. The area the hotel is located in is quite suburban with a middle eastern heritage so good restaurants and there was a market in the parking lot of the small mall nearby

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst on a contiki tour. Beware it is a contiki hotel so for families it may not be the most desirable option. Our group was not that loud so it wasn't too bad, but I know some groups can be pretty bad. It was a decent hotel, clean rooms, good buffet spreads for breakfast and dinner. About a 15 minute tram ride from all the action.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.