We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #167 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Got a special deal through Wowcher, for a 2 night stay in Amsterdam, staying at the Blue Square Hotel.

Yes, the hotel is out of town, but it literally takes 15-20 on a tram and its nice to sit and watch the scenery as you travel through the various streets. We got tram number 13 from Dam Central which dropped us off just round the corner from the hotel. You can also get tram number 14 from the bottom of the street back into Dam Central. When we left the hotel to go back to the airport, we caught the 69 bus which took about 30 mins.

Check-in was quick and efficient (dont forget you have to pay local taxes when you arrive, but for a 2 night stay, our "bill" was 3 euros!!). Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the canal.

Room was spacious, nicely furnished and the bathroom was huge, clean and the shower was lovely. Hairdryer in the room was also good. The beds were like a memory foam and were very difficult to get out of every morning, they were so comfy!!

We paid for breakfast upfront (it wasnt included in the Wowcher deal) for 10 Euros (I think it was 12.50 Euros if you didnt book in advance)...restaurant is nicely laid out, with a choice of fruit, croissants, toast, continental or hot (bacon, sausage, eggs, mushrooms). The orange juice was really tasty...like they'd freshly squeezed a load of oranges!

All in all, for the money we paid, the hotel was lovely. If you want a hotel nearer town, then this probably isnt the hotel for you. But we quite liked being a little bit "out" of town.

Would definitely stay again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    560
    224
    62
    59
See reviews for
185
444
61
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, the rooms were nice and fairly standard. The staff were helpful providing direction for the handy tram/bus service to downtown and airport, both about 20-30 min travel. The area the hotel is located in is quite suburban with a middle eastern heritage so good restaurants and there was a market in the parking lot of the small mall nearby

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst on a contiki tour. Beware it is a contiki hotel so for families it may not be the most desirable option. Our group was not that loud so it wasn't too bad, but I know some groups can be pretty bad. It was a decent hotel, clean rooms, good buffet spreads for breakfast and dinner. About a 15 minute tram ride from all the action.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotell is just a bit to far off from the tourist areas of Amsterdam to please me. The tram to the central city took 15-20 minutes. I normally wouldn't book a hotell like this when travelling but rather check out Tripadvisor recommendations and then choose but as I was travelling alone I figured that I could afford an experiment when booking this two-night trip. It was exiting!
LOCATION 15-20 minutes by tram to central Amsterdam - don't evev consider walking if you are short of time. The area was like a close suburb with different kinds of appartments and houses. There where three nice parks close for joggers (daytime only) even with nice canals, lakes and playgrounds/petting-zoos open to the public.
HOTELL the hotell is ugly from the outside and the reception looks more like a bearly designed 2nd class reception in a country low BNP. The rooms where nice, clean and a bit old fashoned (opposed to the outer shell of the hotell that was very modern) with some rather old furniture and lamps. Nice, well functioning bathrooms. Free Wifi was promised in all rooms but I had to change rooms as the corner rooms aren't reached by the wifi signals. I would have preferred wooden floors to the carpeted ones.
STAFF Mostly friendly, but not all together proffesional. The receptionists where either very nice and friendly persons (not necessarily proffesional) or the efficient type without manners and the understanding that customers are to be taken care of - both typical for an organization without implemented training or standards or both. I was given some great jogging tips by one receptionist.
BREAKFAST was served in a rather dusty (even though clean) looking room but with really friendly staff - happy and smiling all the time and they went out of their way for guests! The food was not very exciting but good enough.
Would I go again? I think I would prefer trying another hotell next time even though my visit to Blue squares was all right.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are huge-ish but are not reached of the free wifi. Other rooms are smaller=normal sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Ms,

Thanks for your extensive comments and honest review.
We are glad to read that you slept well, received good service from our hotel staff and did some neighborhood investigation.
I can not deny that our hotel is located outside the city centre which might be partly reflected in the room rates we offer and the size of our rooms.
Nevertheless you might have noticed the good connections with public transport to the old part of town. We sell tranportation tickets and provid free bike maps.
Anyway, best wishes for 2014 and hope to welcome you in any Best Western hotel again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Got Number 69 bus from airpot took 15-20 minutes. TOURIST INFO IN AIRPORT VERY HELPFULL. So go get there help they will tell you how to get to hotel. (I felt lost when I arrived here too. lol)

At side of hotel is a square with a good shopping center and two supermarkets.
Never judge a book by it's cover. This hotel is not attractive from the outside. But the inside is pleasant, modern and well kept. My room was a lovely twin. It was large room with modern Tv on wall, desk (nice lamps) wardrobe and drawers. The room felt recently decorated to high standard.
Nice modern clean toilet with BIG walk in shower.
I had buffet breakfast everyday and it catered for every taste. Nice scrambled and boiled eggs. But bacon and sausage bit overdone. continental perfect. Overall very nice start to day. Served until 10.30am.
Getting to Dam square from bottom of street on Number 14 Tram took 15 minutes. Trams are fabulous.

When I come back to Amsterdam I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with canal view. If you prefer scenery. I was in middle not much to look at. But I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

At Schipol Get to the bus island and take the 69 bus towards Sloterdijk and get off 50 yards from the hotel. You might miss seeing the hotel ( its on the right , a big blue square building, yes really ) and go past it but fear not. There's another stop close by. Don't take the grin into the center and a taxi back. We took the train towards the center , got off at Sloterdijk and walked about a mile to the hotel through a neighborhood. We know better now. The public transport system is dead easy. Read up a bit before you go.

Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

Room was decent sized with high quality dark wood furniture. Bed was very comfortable. Modern bathroom with a rain shower which was lovely. Everything very clean. Room had a safe and kettle.

We didn't use the facilities for dining apart from breakfast. Good selection of both Euro and Englsh breakfast foods. Bacon, scrambled eggs, cheeses, croissants,breads,etc etc. nice coffee,cappuccino, etc machine so enjoy as much as you want.

Why would you stay here? It's quiet , clean, comfortable and inexpensive. I'd rather take a twenty minute tram ride to the city than try to sleep in a noisy downtown hotel. Amsterdam can get very busy. The public transport is fantastic. Get a two or three day pass and off you go.( the hotel sells bus passes ) Trams and busses are every ten to fifteen minutes. There's a supermarket across the street if you don't feel like dining out.

We booked through Easyjet and got a great deal so it might be worth using their site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a view of the canal. Also gets you away from the sounds of the trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Room was ok although the furniture looks a bit old fashion. room numbering n location is a bit confusing n we were lost searching for our room initially. main concern is the bath tub which was too high n slippery. very dangerous for kids n elderly. should hv rubber mat to avoid slipping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shihotelgroup, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate to hear about your experience.
Regarding the bathroom I would like to inform you that anti slip maths are available
at the reception desk. Because of hygienic reasons we do not have them standardly
in the rooms. the information about bath maths amongst other things can be found in the guest directory in the rooms or by dialing "9 " for reception.

Thanks again and hopfully we can acommodate you again in the future (bath math included ;)

Your sincerely,

Best Western PLUs Hotel Blue Square
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.