We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 80, Amsterdam 1064 HD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    356
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
96
250
41
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few days in September with friends and everything was fine.
It’s not a city centre hotel but very well communicated by tram (20 minutes).
We can not make an opinion about the breakfast due to we don’t take it. There are better options to take a good breakfast outside.
We asked in the reservation for a twin room (2 men in one room) and luckily we had it.
The reception staff is helpful and polite.
In case we come back to Amsterdam, we will choose it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 for a long weekend 1 to 3 November. The family room was a good size but stank of cigarette smoke the shower was a weak lukewarm dribble and the tiles in the shower were so mobile I thought they would fall off the wall at any moment.

The hotel 'bar' was a dark drafty corner of the foyer and we never saw anyone use the restaurant. Breakfast was not included and we did not take up the opportunity of paying €10 per person to order it in advance (€12 on the day).

The beds were narrow and the mattress rather than having a pit in the centre had been turned over so I was constantly in danger of rolling off on to the floor.

The hotel is about a 40 minute bus ride from the airport and about 30 minutes by tram to the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Okay so this hotel doesn't look so great from the outside but inside it is lovely with a nice bar and reception area that leads into a large restaurant. The entire hotel is extremely clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly. We didn't encounter too much noise either which was perfect for our final day when all we needed was sleep!

I found the location fine as we knew we would be staying about 20 minutes from the city centre, there were plenty of shops, food places and even a local market right outside the door so it was never a problem and the trams/buses ran from the end of the street into the centre and it didn't take any time at all.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, the rooms were spacious and very clean and the shower was amazing, the bed was comfortable, the only downside is there were only two maybe three English speaking TV channels and radio stations that we could listen/watch whilst getting ready. Apart from that this hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from 27th Oct, rooms comfortable check in very quick, staff very helpful, food good not brilliant but of a very good standard and not expensive. Very easy into Amsterdam as have stayed in Amsterdam many times but came by either plane or train, this time by car. As we were travelling on Bar a bit hit and miss but never busy so staff wander off elsewhere.
Tram into Amsterdam took about 25 minutes and cost 2.8 Euro.
Having a good area to stay it made trips easier in the car straight onto A10 and out of town, so would recommend it for all.

Room Tip: Just email early for a view of canal, no bother for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What do you do in a new city when you are a tourist. Ask the hotel guys. But what do you do when some staff in the hotel are pleasing and helpful and some are surprisingly rude and non cooperative ? Always peek around the reception whether Miss Horrible is at the Desk or not. She extracted 10 Euros as City tax for 2 nights while I was checking in and did not give me a receipt despite me asking for it. Do not know whether it was her own means of tax or whether it is a standard practice. In a city where pickpockets are always lurking around... I would not be surprised if this was a legalized way of robbing. What I did not understand was the fact that... you take taxes and do not give receipts. Strange !!

Hotel was clean, but a bit away from the city center. IMO, there are many other hotels near the Dam Square which are small and not listed on Expedia. This could have been worthwhile to explore too. The tram station was also closeby. Tram No 14 takes you very close to the hotel (200 metres). Bought a 48 hour ticket for 14 euros and this was okay to see me through 2 days. Breakfast is good and you should book it the previous night to get a 2.5 euro discount on that as it is not included in the room rates.

Getting back late at night could be a challenge. Look out for bus 21, trams 7 and 14.

Room Tip: Take Rooms on the higher floor as the hotel is bang on the road. Early morning there is quite some d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed two nights as we were running the Amsterdam half marathon. The location was convenient for parking the car and avoiding driving in the city center and also near the metro to the olympic stadium. For being tourist in Amsterdam city center, the location is not good, as it takes half an hour by tram to get there. The blue colour of the building looks a bit strange in this suburb with anonymous houses around. Inside the hotel was normal and average for a modern hotel. The bathroom was big and new with a very good shower. It was a bit annoying that we could not open the windows in the room. The nights were quiet. The internet worked well. For breakfast price and quality did not match

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, Amsterdam 1064 HD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel to your Saves list