We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee and cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Huidenstraat 12, 1016ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 623 9554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 54 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stopped for coffee and delicious cakes. Very friendly staff and truly delicious cake. A must when visiting Amsterdam

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank satrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Usually we just stop in to pick up some of their most delicious chocolates to bring home but this time we chose to sit and have a taste of their scrumptious deserts and a hot chocolate (the best ever). It was pure heaven and a great treat. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
321 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Overly Hyped Chocolate!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having been to Belgium on the same trip I would say that the chocolates here are good. HOWEVER, the attitude of the service provided at this shop is AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They think that they can be obnoxious because they are the "best" in Amsterdam, however there are others in Amsterdam who are nice! Honestly, just buy a chocolate bar in the supermarket and enjoy it even more!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Frenchstyle heaven in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This got to be the best cake shop and chocolate cafe in town - tiny it may be, but the wares on offer will make worth any time you spend waiting for one the very few tables. On sunny days they even expand the number by a few more seating option on the pavement outside... what ever you do, do not miss this cake and chocolate paradise.

We love it for romantic cake hours "a deux" or with the family for afternoon cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank I_laurentius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excelent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I came across this charming wee place when i was exploring the nine streets with my boyfriend. Naturally being a woman i like cake and chocolate so we stopped in for a bite! From the outside you cant help but be drawn in as it just looks so interesting. We came two days in a row and i just wish we had found it sooner. The cakes we had were phenomenal and i wish i could take them back to inverness!

Helpful?
Thank Joannainwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing