We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Huidenstraat 12, 1016ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 623 9554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 2,529 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excelent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I came across this charming wee place when i was exploring the nine streets with my boyfriend. Naturally being a woman i like cake and chocolate so we stopped in for a bite! From the outside you cant help but be drawn in as it just looks so interesting. We came two days in a row and i just wish we had found it sooner. The cakes we had were phenomenal and i wish i could take them back to inverness!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    36
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate & cake to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely little cake shop in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam,an excellent choice of fancy but delicious cakes,i had the creme brulee cake,my husband had the raspberry mousse cake,both were amazingly yummy,but mine was a bit too rich and i couldnt finish,but my hubby happily scoffed what was left of mine!!!
Very expensive(the cakes retail at 5.25 euro each) so two cakes and two teas will set you back 15.00/16.00 euro or so,but its really worth it if you want to treat yourself to something naughty!
The quality is amazing,the staff are warm and friendly.definitely worth a visit.
They also sell handmade chocolates,which are 9 euro for a small box of 6 chocolates,although i thought they looked good,at that price i wasnt going to buy them.
My husband bought a small bag of chocolate covered candied orange peel,that was 9 euro too,they were lovely but i dont think they were worth that much! Especially as i know where you can get quality chocolate in this city for slightly lower prices,but a higher quantity.
Not a place for the casual backpacker or student on a budget,but the perfect little treat for couples enjoying a romantic weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolatier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place to get your dessert, the cake for that special occasion, a gift for the host and hostess, or just a treat for your self. A joy to step into this lovely shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pricey, but worth it. There is both a tea room and take out service, with lots of different fruit tarts,chocolate cakes and individual pieces of chocolate. No better place to buy a hostess gift!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best madeleines ever ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw this pretty pastry cafe while having a drink and snacks at the cafe opposite (also good), and the displays looked so delightful we were determined to try it out! We weren't disappointed. The pastries are a little on the pricey side, but the quality is worth it. We had the strawberry tart which had the sweetest, freshest strawberries on top and good pastry. And the madeleines were the best I've ever had - great texture and taste. Next time I'm buying a batch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolaterie Pompadour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.