We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing chocolatier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Huidenstraat 12, 1016ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6239554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolatier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place to get your dessert, the cake for that special occasion, a gift for the host and hostess, or just a treat for your self. A joy to step into this lovely shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    31
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york city
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pricey, but worth it. There is both a tea room and take out service, with lots of different fruit tarts,chocolate cakes and individual pieces of chocolate. No better place to buy a hostess gift!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best madeleines ever ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw this pretty pastry cafe while having a drink and snacks at the cafe opposite (also good), and the displays looked so delightful we were determined to try it out! We weren't disappointed. The pastries are a little on the pricey side, but the quality is worth it. We had the strawberry tart which had the sweetest, freshest strawberries on top and good pastry. And the madeleines were the best I've ever had - great texture and taste. Next time I'm buying a batch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Given that Amsterdam is never really warm, Pompadour's hot chocolate is a life savor for the dreary Amsterdam weather. Also recommend ginger tosti.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastries in a lovely area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Pompadour is in the heart of the Negen Straatjes (9 Little Streets), a very nice area of boutique shops. It has a lovely selection of delicious cakes and excellent chocolates. My wife and I stopped for coffee and cake, the food was great and the service timely and friendly. Definitely a recommended stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolaterie Pompadour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.