We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best madeleines ever ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Huidenstraat 12, 1016ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-6239554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 2,412 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best madeleines ever ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw this pretty pastry cafe while having a drink and snacks at the cafe opposite (also good), and the displays looked so delightful we were determined to try it out! We weren't disappointed. The pastries are a little on the pricey side, but the quality is worth it. We had the strawberry tart which had the sweetest, freshest strawberries on top and good pastry. And the madeleines were the best I've ever had - great texture and taste. Next time I'm buying a batch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    31
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Given that Amsterdam is never really warm, Pompadour's hot chocolate is a life savor for the dreary Amsterdam weather. Also recommend ginger tosti.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastries in a lovely area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Pompadour is in the heart of the Negen Straatjes (9 Little Streets), a very nice area of boutique shops. It has a lovely selection of delicious cakes and excellent chocolates. My wife and I stopped for coffee and cake, the food was great and the service timely and friendly. Definitely a recommended stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A chocolate lovers dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The pastries and such in this store defy review. They are works of art! And they taste amazing!!! We had a pastry with raspberry mouse that was absoulutely incredible. The mouse was so light and creamy it was like eating a cloud of raspberry. One of the locals was sitting across from us and overheard our conversation. She smiled and sid "this is one of the best in all of Amsterdam". I have to agree!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes and chocolates and cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful selection of homemade cakes and chocolates and a charming atmosphere combined with very reasonable prices makes this a place worth visiting

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolaterie Pompadour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.