We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Artistic Retreat From the Noise of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lieve Nachten B&B

Save Saved
You added Lieve Nachten B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lieve Nachten B&B
Jan Olphert Vaillantlaan 7779, 1086 XZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Artistic Retreat From the Noise of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We were so happy to stumble upon Lieve Nachten B&B. The artistic b&b was the perfect place for us to relax after spending the day in city center. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic staff, and AMAZING food!

Oh, and a bath tub that I could have spent all day in.

Don't miss out on the organic breakfast, Kitty's cooking will blow your mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very nice place! Thank you very for everyone.

Good breakfast, nice large room for family with two children. Fantastic staff !!!

We'll come back here for sure.

Nadia, Alex, Daniel & Maija

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Lieve Nachten has great prices and is a perfect place to stay! I really recommend it to everyone who enjoys interesting accommodation. Our room was great. The service was great!
Two thumbs up for the owners. Thank You again for hosting us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inhambane, Mozambique
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were a group of 6, ranging in age from 16 to mid-50's. The stay at Lieve Nachten is like being invited into the owner's private space. The front door is open, the kitchen is open - and its true, breakfast is wonderful. We stayed for 5 days and breakfast was different every day - as was the music. Classical in nature, but ranging from opera to spiritual type chants.

The dining room features large chairs from Ghana with a wonderful electic collection of artefacts and cloths' throughout the house. The architecture of the house is wonderfully different and the bright orange bottom half and upper half finished in wood fits perfectly. The house is built in several levels and even has a large library with a good collection of books.

Bedrooms are individually furnished - again with interesting interiors. Beds are comfortable with quality linen. My bed was on the floor on solid portable bases (2x) with 2 x other single beds in the room. Bathrooms are basic, but what more do you need!

From the house its a short walk to a wonderful local restaurant with dishes not usually found on the average menu. A tram station - +/- 300m from the house, will take you into central Amsterdam. If you stay out late in the city, there's a bus that travels a similar route as the tram - the owners adivsed us on all types of sites, restaurants and places of interest.

This is a place for people that wish to stay in a homely environment away from the usual sterile hotel room. We wanted to make a picnic and asked whether they could bake us one of their delicious breads. At breakfast our special home baked picnic bread was waiting.

Thank you for a wonderful stay - from all of us

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

we live in the area of b&b lieve nachten and made reservations for 3 rooms for 1 night to accomodate a few guests for our wedding.
the booking was made early july, and was confirmed by the owners.
they congratulated us on the wedding...
today to our surprise we received a mail stating the bookings were all cancelled because they were blocking the international reservations that were made. we found out very easily these reservations were made yesterday night.

no appologies, no help to find different lodgings, nothing. plus all of a sudden they had a rule they never acoomodate for ONE night..... this is not mentioned on any of the websites they are liked to , but at least now you know.

so if you have made a reservation for one night or perhaps 2, don't be surprised if the confirmed booking will be cancelled without any reason.
there may be a guest staying longer, which in their eyes is more important.

conclusion: Lieve nachten bed and breakfast is not to be trusted with their reservations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

The B&B is situated on an artificial island, which is just a short ride from the Centraal Station by tram no. 26. You will find there the best examples of modern Dutch architecture, including houses built on water. There is a small grocery on the street. The B&B itself is a wooden house with a small garden. The rooms are big and comfortable (comfy beds) and mainly beautifully furnished! You just feel really good and relaxed. There is free wifi. Didn`t try the organic breakfast (10 euros). I think you can also borrow or hire bicycles. The couple who run the hotel is very pleasant. There is no problem in arranging individually your check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stayed with 2 small kids here for a long weekend. Bring your own soap to wash your hands with. You have to ask for more toilet paper, etc. and don't expect your room serviced while you are there- don't expect clean towels every day.
The beds are comfy. The kids had their own big beds, which was nice.
The breakfast was excellent. Very yummy. It was funny watching them make breakfast for us.
It is an easy tram ride into the city, but it was a bit far out there. I think next time I would like to stay in the city center. Buy your travel passes before you get on the train.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lieve Nachten B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lieve Nachten B&B

Address: Jan Olphert Vaillantlaan 7779, 1086 XZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lieve Nachten B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lieve Nachten Hotel Amsterdam
Lieve Nachten Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lieve Nachten B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.