We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, very chic, cosmo.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“great hotel, very chic, cosmo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

my comments are for the Novotel in Rotterdam, Brain Park but Rotterdam is not listed . Enyoyed our stay. A little bit expensive but good value for money. biggest disappointment was lack of Spa as i think Novotels have positioned themselves as business hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    676
    200
    50
    21
See reviews for
318
280
87
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in Novotel Amsterdam City for one night. We had a reservation for a superior double room with convertible sofa. The room was clean and modern furnished. The first little problem was, that there wasn´t any possibility to have two separate covers for the double bed. Compared to the second problem with bedding it was tolerable. But when I layed out the sofa, there was just thin cover with sheet, not normal feather quilt. I don´t think, that it is a normal standart for superior room in 4* hotel.
By the way, the staff was very friendly and hotel has a business center with free internet (but just for 20 minutes and in the room there you can have just wi-fi and it´s paid - also little bit unusual).
There is also good connection to the city center - about 15 minutes by tram.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alverca Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We loved our stay in Amsterdam ... we were travelling with our own car and one of our major problem was parking . Novotel had the perfect solution ... althouht the renovation we still be able to park our car ( limited places thoug) , paying 22 euros per night ... believe me it's a very good price for amsterdam city .
It's not in the city center but it's a very good location ... calm and not even 10 min. will be on the tram nº 4 directly to the city center . VEry good surrounding . We made the evening cruise that ends almost midnight and we had no problem ti get back to the hotel , very safe ! Very nice staff ... yes the hotel is suffering a renovation but the staff makes all the effort to get this a minus ... and it suceeded ! Staff is always corcern to your well-being, even in the stressful moments that the hotel is complete. We had to book another hotel on our department and they did all to help us (special thanks to all with no excpetion) !!! Rooms are great, clean and vey very confort . I splet like a baby ... Great breakfast .... What can I say more ? It's the best value for money I could find in Amsterdam !!! Don't miss it !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnano In Riviera
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Great hotel, with nice rooms (fantastic bed). The buffet breakfast was really good and the staff was very helpful and professional.
Nice design, and free internet on the lobby. In 15 minutes you can be at Central Station with tram number 4.

Great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with friends back in May this year. To be honest I was a little worried becasue of some of the negative reviews about the hotel being under renovation and the fact someone said the receiption and restaurant was in a "tent" in the carpark. I got there and was plesently supprised.

We arrived at the airport and got a train to Station Rai. Stepped out the station turned right and we could see our hotel! Only a 5min walk or less and we were checking in.

As for this "tent" in the carpark, its not a tent at all. It is a purpouse built structure and is very nice. The moment we stepped inside the noise (what little there was) stopped. Its very well sound proofed and air conditioned.

We arrived very early (9:30am) and were allowed to check in straight away no questions asked. There was free internet on 2 macs in the reception and all in all my worries that I had before arriving soon faded.

The rooms are very nice, spacious and clean. We were on the 15th floor and had a great view. There was a good selection for breakfast and is what you would expect from a hotel. I would highly recommend booking a room that includes breakfast. Breakfast alone is a bit pricey at 21euros! But worth it when booked with the room for an extra £5 or so.

Yes this hotel is not right in the center of things but I liked that. I researched everything before I went so I knew there was the metro station close to the hotel, along with the trams (number 4).

I knew we would be staying out later than the metro or trams would run, and there is a night bus that runs every half hour from 12:30am right through to 6:00am! Take the number 354a bus and it will drop you outside station Rai.

It really is so easy to get around the city and exeptional value if you but a 24/48/72 hour ticket. These can be purchased from the metro section of station Rai from the machine. The people that worked there were very helpful and showed us what we needed to get.

It was nice to get out of the busy city center and come back to the hotel.

Great Hotel
Great People
Great City

All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Its a good hotel in the heart of city . Good ambience in room with complimentary breakfast. Very close to Amsterdam Rai station so commuting also became very easy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

True this hotel is not in the city centre of amsterdam but that not a bad thing as the centre can be very rowdy and sleezy in areas! The tram stops just outside the hotel and only takes about 10 min to central station. Buy a travel card as they are great value for money. The hotel is clean tidy and has a great selection for breakfast. We did eat in the hotel for the first night and enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant at not a overly expensive cost. Also getting to the hotel from the airport couldn't be easier grab the train heading into the central station and get off at rai station and you'll see the hotel 5 min walk easy! really enjoyed our stay because of the location as it was with easy distance to everything but far enough out of the hustle and bustle so that we were not disturbed

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.