We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel close to RAI exhibition centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #87 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel close to RAI exhibition centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good, comfortable rooms that are quiet and well equipped. No irons or ironing boards in the rooms but they are available by calling reception. Good and well organised restaurant that has a very good breakfast. Easy walk to RAI and also a ready supply of taxis to take people to the centre.

Room Tip: No real difference from the rooms that I saw and we had 28 rooms booked for a week for a conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear phil0047,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated. I am glad you had a nice stay. Looking forward to welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    763
    231
    59
    25
See reviews for
368
324
92
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I wouldn't claim it to be exceptional. We stayed here with an academic conference- and although I wasn't one of the people attending the conference, the proximity was wonderful for those who were to the convention center.
The 4 tram is nearby and convenient to ride further into the city.
The lobby is stunning. Very modern, flavored water by the front desk daily was very refreshing.
The rooms were just average. Clean but very small. We were however pleased to find a mini fridge.
Thank god there is air conditioning because there were 2 of us sleeping in this tiny single bed.

Room Tip: Really shoot for a larger bed. They are so damn small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Lindsay M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a good stay. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is my first visit to Amsterdam. My experience was very good. The room was ok, We have an extra bed for my dauthger. The buffet breakfast and the service staff were fantanstic. Specially to have the opportunity to use a PC to print documents was a plus. We really enjoyed our stay.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ruben C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that your first experience in Amsterdam was a good one! Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've stayed at Novotel throughout the world, and stayed at the Novotel Hotel in Amsterdam a few times, which is perfectly located, being only a 15 minute journey from Schiphol Airport, and a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Rai station, which links you to the main overhead train network and tram service. The journey into Central Amsterdam by tram, is only a 15 minute ride and tajes you through the main tourist areas, until it terminates at Amsterdam Central station. If you are visiting a concert or show at the Ziggo Dome, this is alongside the Ajax Football Stadium, which is only a 10 minute train or taxi ride from the Novotel Hotel. The hotel itself is first rate, very comfortable rooms, include wifi, which you can upgrade to include the minibar and movie channels and breakfast etc. The bar and restaurant are excellent, with very accommodating friendly staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for a few extra euros...... It is definitely worth it, and use the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Trevor F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had such a good stay! Hopefully we could give you the same experience in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The staff are very friendly and the hotel lives up to the Novotel standard. It is really well located and only 3 minutes walk to the tram number 4 and the Amsterdam RAI train station ( 10 minutes to Schipol). The only thing is that the breakfast time was very busy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear novotique,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Regarding the breakfast; we will extend the times.
Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Per Person 30 EUR incl starter, main course and drinks (beer and soft drinks).

Good - very good is the duck with truffels.

The ambiente is very modern.

Keep calm if the waitor is not the fastest, 1 star minus.

At the end, everthing is beautiful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Der Achim B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed your diner in our restaurant. My sincerest apologies the service was below expectations. Hopefully you will give us a chance to serve you better in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.