We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #83 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed while attending conference in Rai. The rooms are very clean if basic, but perfectly adequate for a short visit. The staff are very polite and service is excellent. Restaurant does feel a but like a school refectory but the food is ok. Check in was slow, but softened by the arrival of var staff with some juice samples. A nice hotel that I would use again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Dan G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvsisor and share your experiences. I am glad to read you had a nice stay.
Regarding the slow check in; my sincerest apologies for that. If you will visit us again, please be informed that we have the possibility to check in online. This will avoid any waiting time.
Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    718
    212
    55
    25
See reviews for
352
307
87
403
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Novotel, Amsterdam from 19th June to 23rd June 2014. I had 3 Double Bed Rooms there (nos.1511, 1512 & 1513). Though the Property is in bit outskirts, but a Metro station RAI in walking distance doesn't let u feel that u r far from the city, I was given a beautiful welcome, I cannot forget the generous lady who helped me check-in. She was very kind and guiding us every bit of Amsterdam. The staff was very courteous. The amenities & facilities were outstanding. I would give Five Star rating to this property. I wish all the Staff a Big Thanks & all the Best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear AnitGrover,

Thank you very much for your kind words! I am glad you had a wonderful stay at Novotel Amsterdam City! Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future in Amsterdam and give you the same, or even better, experience!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just a 5 minute walk to the Convention Centre. Hotel is very easy to get to by train from the Schiphol Airport, just two stops away. The hotel is very modern and opposite parklands. Rooms are spacious and clean. Dirk supermarket close by and opposite the convention centre in the Roc Building.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear JPGE,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay with us. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has a very modern feel about it. The furniture and decoration is colourful and very 'clean' looking. Staff at the hotel are very polite and helpful. The room I stayed in was large with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable. The shower was lovely. The hotel is very clean. I had some good meals in the restaurant and the price was reasonable. A walk to the city centre will take around 30 minutes comfortably. Public transport is nearby if the walk is too much

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear pdsfinance,

Thank you so much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had such a good stay with us! Hopefully we could give you the same, or even better, experience in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Novotel for two nights. The hotel is located in a nice, peaceful locality, a short metro ride from the Amsterdam main station (Line 51, station Rai). The room was very spacious, clean and well furnished. The hotel staff were very friendly. Quick check-in. The tram station (line 4) is very close to the hotel.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had good amenities. The room also had a mini fridge that had only two bottles of water (one still and the other sparkling). The fridge was not working though. Wifi went on and off, but manageable.

The breakfast was excellent, good variety and value for money (included in our tariff). However, we could hardly see any restaurants in the neighborhood. Better to have lunch/dinner at one of the numerous ones in the city centre.

Overall, highly recommended for a stay away from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear PradeepMumbai_India,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Good to read you had a nice stay at our hotel!

My sincerest apologies to read your fridge did not work properly and the WIFI was not working how it supposed to be.

Regarding restaurants in the neighbourhood; Restaurant Bellini (Italian), Korean Garden, Bolenius etc. There are also several restaurants near by station Zuid WTC. Our reception staff is more than helpful to give you our best addresses and direction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Overall impression:
Functional and good hotel, no individual touch however, but a hotel representative of what you will expect from a large hotel chain. Friendly and service-minded staff.
As with too many hotels these days, I missed the small clothes for personal washing at the bathroom. For 229 Euros per night this should have been a natural part of the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Hans A. H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated. Regarding the face towels; indeed we do not have these in the bathrooms. Due to the fact we are ISO 14001 certified (Planet 21, the Accor sustainable development program) we can not provide these face towels. We do have tissues in the bathroom which is a reusable material.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff.
5 min walk to Rai train station. 4 min walk to tram station
15 min train ride to Schiphol. 15 min tram ride to Museumplein. 20-25 min to Dam Square/central station.
Modern hotel with lifts. Quiet location.
Reasonable size room.
Good varieties breakfast.
Past favourable experience w Novotel The Hague.
Only set back is the sofa bed is a bit too small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear carrielow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read your experience with our sofa bed did not meet your expectations. My apologies for that. Hopefully we could give you a better experience in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.