We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #82 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I organised a conference here and I was very impressed with this venue.

It is really close to the airport and convenient. The hotel has lots of open spaces that make it great for holding a drinks reception . The food in the restaurant was good and the conference room was excellent.

Rooms were good with great views.

I do agree though with the comments about wifi, it really is lousy!!

I would return here for sure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear HullPhil,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to read you had a positive experience in our hotel. Regarding our WIFI, my sincerest apologies. Did you mention this at the reception? All of our rooms are provided with cable internet.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    719
    212
    55
    25
See reviews for
352
307
87
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have had various experiences in NL when it comes to hotels, ranging from outstanding to never again!!! The Novotel in Amsterdam is not a cheap stay, but value for money is very positive.
I was there for business (Eye for Transport 8th Annual Hi-tech & Electronics Summit Europe) but the hotel staff treat you in a very special way, they were great.
Excellent access to the venue, parking a bit of a challenge, nice food for a big hotel restaurant, clean rooms (top class coffee machine in the room), really comfortable bed, however the staff made the difference. Always a smile, helpful, engaged and nothing was too much!!
If you want to stay in AMS for business a really good choice.

Room Tip: 11th floor is where I stayed - avoid room next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Nash1963,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor and taking the time for it. This is really appreciated.

Hopefully we could welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Who baptized this Novotel Amsterdam "city"?? It is some 20 min by train to the main station/city center and AMS is not an extremely big city! However, good to avoid the turbulence of the city and live in a quiet area, close to the RAI congress center (10 min walk). Train and tram stations are about 5 min walk; the trip to the airport was about 15 min: so the location of the hotel is perfect if you attend a congress at the RAI. I had a very good dinner at the "Bellini"; 10 min walk from the hotel.
The bed was simply tragic - good that I usually can sleep in most beds and also on the floor! The walls are quite thin and I did not need my own alarm clock as my neighbor´s was set nearly at the same time as mine every day ...
The water pressure (on the 13th floor) was very low: fat persons should get up 15 min earlier to get wet every part of the body... The view fom my room was excellent though.
Check out time was 12h noon and don´t even think of ask for a (free) later check out.
WLAN was fast and without any problems. Breakfast was good, well organized and
available from 6am. It was not included in my room rate, but the price seemed acceptable.
My opinion: it is not a "city" hotel, but a good choice if you want to stay out of the center or attend a meeting at the RAI. Probably would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear freqtravmuc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to read you had a nice stay in general.

My sincerest apologies regarding our beds and the water pressure. We have tested different kinds of mattresses and in September we will start to change all of our old mattress into new ones.

Regarding the water pressure in your room; did you mention this at the reception? Our technical department could have try to solve this.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Let me start by saying that this hotel cannot be bettered for its location close to the Amsterdam RAI. So if you are visiting an exhibition there, this is the place to stay. The hotel itsef is clean, convenient and reasonably comfortable too although the service is a bit hit and miss.

However if you are visiting the RAI you are probably there on business which also probably means you will want fast, reliable wi-fi in your room. This unfortunately is where this Novotel fails miserably. The management say that the wi-fi was upgraded in the past few months but I have stayed there in the past two months and it is the same old, same old. It is real luck of the draw whether you will actually get working wi-fi in your room or not.

The management will also try to fob you off with the argument that "the wi-fi is slow" because so many people are using it. I accept that to a point but I have also stayed at the hotel when there isn't a show on at the RAI and the occupancy levels were clearly low (judged by the room rates, the staffing levels and lack of peoiple in the bar/restaurant).

In this day and age for a hotel not to have a reliable, robust, fast wi-fi available to guests is not acceptable - so if connectivity is important to you, avoid this property at all costs. If you aren't bothered about your emails and the internet, well this hotel should be OK for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear chrisklopper,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated.

Second of all, my sincerest apologies about your experience with our WIFI. Indeed, we had some problems, but these will be solved very shortly. Did you mention this to the reception? They could have offere you cable internet for free.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice business hotel, It's very close to the metro and tram station "Amsterdam Ray". Executive room is big with a nice view over the city on the top floor and a lot of drinks for free in the minibar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear GavTvLN,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Our Executive rooms are really a recommendation. Except the benefits of a Superior room, you will have a double bed, bathrobes, slippers (which you can bring home), Nespresso etc.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

An example of a hotel that puts tremendous effort into the lobby and bar/restaurant area while the rooms and corridors leave a lot to be desired. I was in a very average room, it was fairly comfortable but small. Unfortunately it was adjoining so I could hear the people next door perfectly - annoying when you're there on business and have to be up early (I think I told them to keep it down at some stage)

Breakfast was nice, no complaints there. Overall an adequte business hotel, but don't be fooled into illusions of grandeur.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Aleterial,

Thank you for your review.

Indeed, our lobby is more updated compared to our rooms. The renovation is planned for this year.

My apologies to read you could hear the guests next door.

Hopefully we could welcome you again in the nearest future, especially when the renovation has been done!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.