We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Far Out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #85 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Watertown, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“To Far Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were booked into Novotel by our travel agent. We just came off a river cruise from Zurich to Amsterdam. It was too far out of town for convenience. It cost $38.00 to get a taxi from downtown to the hotel. We could have taken the tram but who wants to lug a suitcase around Amsterdam looking the right tram?. If you are going to a concert it would be very convenient as the facility it is very near. The one redeeming factor was that it was on the tram and train line. It was easy to get back into the city or to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear TillieMToiler,

Thank you for your review.

Indeed, the location of our hotel is not in the city centre, but next the station Amsterdam RAI (20 minutes by tram). Perhaps it is an idea to check Google earth for the location of the hotel next time. In this way you could see exactly how much distance it is between your arrival point and the hotel.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    739
    217
    56
    25
See reviews for
360
313
87
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

2 night stay here in April, on check in received a free upgrade to suite room which was nice and large with double basins bathroom which was nice!

Internet was a little slow however free.

In first impression hotel was a little far from cbd however at arms reach with public transport only 20-30 mins. Close to airport for those wanting easy access!

Nice bar and morning buffet was extensive with eggs cooked to your liking.

Fitness facility was good and quiet should you wish to work out!!

See you next time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear jayrod22,

Thank you for your positive review. This is very much appreciated. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Our hotel is indeed easily reachable by train from the airport. It will take you just 10 minutes.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for our engagement and booked it online. On arriving the hotel is more like a business conference style hotel and very basic. The staff had no interest in the guests. Main bug bear for us was that the hotel is located quite a distance from the main town. You couldn't walk it and it cost us a fortune in taxis each day getting to and from the main town. If you want a hotel with the fantastic buzz and charm amsterdam has to offer - don't book this one :0)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Andieb78.

First of all; congratulations with your engagement! Secondly; thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read you were disappointed by the location of Novotel Amsterdam City. Indeed, we are not located in the city center (which is clearly explained on our website). Instead of taking the taxi (what is pretty expensive as you have mentioned), you can take the tram or metro to go to downtown within 15 minutes. It will cost only € 2- € 3 and the tram stop is only a 4 minutes walk.

Goodluck with your preperations for your wedding and wish you all the best!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel isn't within Dam Square nor that close to the city centre, however it has a tram station near by where you can catch a tram that takes you to the heart of Amsterdam. As I went during the New Year in December 2012 and celebrated 2013 out clubbing, the trams were closed, Ihad to walk all the way back to the hotel which took over an hour. In terms of amenities the TV is of a decent size along with having a decent quality in pictures. The gym is not the biggest of gyms however if you want a short workout then the gym is sufficient. The hotel bar has an assortment of drinks which are reasonably priced and the bar staff have sufficient knowledge of drinks and are more than happy to offer suggestions. The room itself has an average bathroom but the beds are more than comfy and the sound of the outside passing of cars is nonexistent. Overall it's a good hotel with a variety of amenities but I wouldn't recommend it for those that want to be close to attractions.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AmritpalH,

Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor. Indeed, our hotel is not located in the city center, but just a 15-20 minutes ride by tram. For those who would like to retreat from the crowd, Novotel Amsterdam City is perfectly located.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The romom is old and samll, and also the Wifi didn't work. But the service is fine, as a compensation, i was allowed to use the cable connection free of charge. The door is Squeaking and waken me at midnight. This should be improved. However the breakfest is excellent.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Robin L,

Thank you for your review. Our apologies the Wifi didn't work and the squeaking door. I have discussed this within our technical department.

Hopefully we could give you a better service during your next visit!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Recently I had a visit of Amsterdam for a scientific research. I had a 5 night stay in this hotel and I am very unsatisfied about the management! On all displays of the hotel we see advertisement about "customer services" but when you come to reality you feel much less! I have a completely different sense compared to services I observed in Park Hyatt Dubai.

Of course, during my stay at Novotel I informed the internal manager of the hotel about inconveniences happened and he promised to not to let repeating such problems in future. But, I would like to inform other guests about the existing situation at this hotel. My comment is as follow:
1) read all conditions about costs, in advance. For instance, take care that "breakfast" is not inclusive in prices, generally;
2) receive a receipt while speaking with receptionists to be able to prove what hav spoken about and what decisions are taken by him/her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear masoud46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. My sincerest apologies you did not have the experience in our hotel which you should have as our guest.

Unfortunately I can not read what happened exactly. If you would like to send me any details, you could contact me directly on H0515-am@accor.com

Hopefully we could give you a better experience in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.