We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is old and small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #81 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“The room is old and small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The romom is old and samll, and also the Wifi didn't work. But the service is fine, as a compensation, i was allowed to use the cable connection free of charge. The door is Squeaking and waken me at midnight. This should be improved. However the breakfest is excellent.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Robin L,

Thank you for your review. Our apologies the Wifi didn't work and the squeaking door. I have discussed this within our technical department.

Hopefully we could give you a better service during your next visit!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    697
    207
    53
    23
See reviews for
342
299
87
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tehran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Recently I had a visit of Amsterdam for a scientific research. I had a 5 night stay in this hotel and I am very unsatisfied about the management! On all displays of the hotel we see advertisement about "customer services" but when you come to reality you feel much less! I have a completely different sense compared to services I observed in Park Hyatt Dubai.

Of course, during my stay at Novotel I informed the internal manager of the hotel about inconveniences happened and he promised to not to let repeating such problems in future. But, I would like to inform other guests about the existing situation at this hotel. My comment is as follow:
1) read all conditions about costs, in advance. For instance, take care that "breakfast" is not inclusive in prices, generally;
2) receive a receipt while speaking with receptionists to be able to prove what hav spoken about and what decisions are taken by him/her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear masoud46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. My sincerest apologies you did not have the experience in our hotel which you should have as our guest.

Unfortunately I can not read what happened exactly. If you would like to send me any details, you could contact me directly on H0515-am@accor.com

Hopefully we could give you a better experience in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I often stay in Novotels. This time I paid a supplement to upgrade to an executive room on the top floor, but I was disappointed that it was quite small by Novotel standards, and the toilet was not separate from the bathroom, as I've come to expect with a Novotel executive room (this was an issue with one adult and two kids sharing a room). The wifi signal was also very weak in the room. It's far from the centre of Amsterdam, in a very modern zone by the motorway, but metro and tram links to the centre are very good, so that's not a major issue. On arriving, they gave us a ticket for a complimentary drink at the bar, but only one complementary drink to share between the three of us, so it felt like a trick to get us to pay for two drinks in the bar. Otherwise, everything fine, as you would expect with a Novotel. I would use it again, but I wouldn't pay extra for an executive room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Belgo43,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you were disappointed about our Executive rooms. Eventhough the size is the same, this upgrade has much more facilities and services: bathrobe and slippers, extra/luxury toiletries, minibar, Nespresso machine, a bottle of water and on request a news paper.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a mini cruise & stay, overnight ferry from Hull to Rotterdam, then coach to Amsterdam. We opted for the tram transport to Novotel Amsterdam City, (approx 25 mins from Amsterdam Central Station to Station RAI). First impressions was very pleasing, reception is bright, clean and very welcoming, as we were a bit early, the receptionist told us that the deluxe room that was booked for us wasn't quite ready, but she could offer us an upgrade to the executive floor for an extra €30 per night, which included a mini-bar, we decided to take this and it was well worth the money. We were on the 15th floor and the view was awesome. The room was extremely comfortable, super king size bed, roomy bathroom with luxury toiletries. Breakfast was a buffet arrangement with something for everyone, croissants, pastries, cooked breakfast, fresh fruits, yogurts the chef even cooked omelettes to order. All staff we met, whatever time of day were smiling and friendly, all in all this was a very enjoyable experience and one we would certainly repeat ( hopefully sometime soon)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear page5962,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to read you had a good experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had 3 days on this hotel during a business trip.

This is definitely a high standard hotel. Everything was pretty good and above average.
Nice rooms.
Friendly staff.
Good service.
Taste dishes and breakfast with a lot of variety at the Hotel restaurant.
Close to tram and train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Dan R,

Thank you very much for your positive review. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hello

Hotel is located outside the city but close to a main train station. Nothing around in the evening except empty banks. The place is big... very crowded...many people from airlines companies ( delays, cancellation, etc....) so could be very noisy and busy in the lobby. You can even queue to go in one of the elevators. The place is very big, so forget about personalized services or romantic getaway. The restaurant on the ground floor delivers good food, decent pricing and good service ( even if possibly crowded). There is a parking facility which is convenient. Room has quite standard, nothing special to report. It's a business and or stopover place. The elevators are abit old ( door not opening...) or tired.....the place is quiet except if you are unlucky and being settled next to busy groups.... Free interent wifi everywhere..cabled internet for a low daily fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear mannecker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Nearby the RAI, which is a 10 minute walk, are a few restaurants and bars to fulfill your evening. Furthermore, we are indeed a big hotel with 610 rooms. Nevertheless, we always do our utmost to give every guest personal attention and to give them an unforgettable experience.

Hopefully we could welcome you in the nearest future to give you that experience!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.