We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but dont waste $$$ on the upgrade offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel but dont waste $$$ on the upgrade offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 night 12-14Apr..stay here many time good point is just two train stop from airport so it very convent to travel to/from airport..this hotel is up to novotel standard..during check in was inform our room still not ready and offer extra ?30 to upgrade ans since travel with my wife so accepted the offer..well except the free mini bar drink n expresso machine is add on..nothing is different from those room I usually stay here..same size,same design,same view...
Avoid the upgrade offer n everything will b fine for this hotel..good breakfast,stronginternet,clean convent etc...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Vincent C,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay.

Please let me explain benefits of a room upgrade. Our Executive Novation room have added products and services: located on the top floor, double bed, bathrobes, slippers, luxury toiletries, Nespresso, free WiFi internet, minibar, media package and a bottle of water. Upon request free newspaper is available.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    676
    200
    50
    21
See reviews for
319
280
87
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days while visiting Amsterdam withy the wife. Room was very clean and room service was great.

Hotel very close to tram, metro and train. (About 5mins walk) giving easy access to the city.

Beautiful park right across the road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Myself and three friends have just returned from a 4 night trip to Amsterdam where we stayed at this hotel. We all really liked the hotel and had a lovely stay in the city.

Although it is slightly out of the way it's not much hassle to use the public transport in the area. For instance we used the Tram system for our entire stay. The hotel is a 10 minuet(ish) comfortable walk away from the RAI station which is literally just down the road. This is about 20 minuets on the Number 4 Tram into Rembrandtplein which is a square full of Cafes, Bars and Resturants as well as a few shops. Additionally the hotel is around 30 minuets into the city centre, again on the Number 4 Tram. The tram is also fairly cheap - it's 12.00Euros for a 48 hour pass.

The room in the hotel as to a good standard. Myself and my friend shared a twin room and the other two had a double room which were both lovely and spotless. The beds were really comfortable to sleep in and had either soft/hard pillows available. The rooms all have TV's, Coffee/Tea making facilities and Mini fridge in them. Also the bathroom was really nice and had a large Bath and Shower combined, Hairdryer and also some toiletries.

The communal areas were really clean, tidy and well facilitated. The hotel has a bar and restaurant, although we didn't eat or drink in them. They also have a small snack bar selling sandwiches, drink and snack items. The hotel also has a nice little tourist type shop selling a variety of things. Also available for use, although we didn't use it, is a gym. They also have computers in the reception area and free wifi to use which we had no issue using in our rooms on the 8th and 3rd floors as well as outside of the hotel and in it's reception areas.

The reception staff are lovely and really helpful. They provided us with everything we needed - including lending us umbrellas and plug adaptors! and they were also available for us to ask questions like directions. Also really helpful and friendly on check-in and check-out which made the stay easier and more enjoyable.

Overall - top hotel with brilliant staff! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Joanna E,

Thank you very much for such a positive review. This is really appreciated by me, but above all our staff. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel is easy to reach via train from the airport aprox 10mins and from the hotell a tram brings you to the city center in aprox 25mins. If you are looking for good standard for a reasonable price I recommend the hotel as the breakfast was excellent as well as the sleaping quality. The room is nice and spatious. The only negative is the minibar / prices of food in the hotel as it contains only water ( over 3 euro for a small bottle) and if you like something else you have to go down to the minimarket/bar in the lobby. All in all a smart choice in comprison with what you get for that Money in city center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Iva82,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Good to read you had a nice stay. Except our minibar and our coffee corner we also have our vending machines next to our gift shop in the lobby. Here you will find drinks and snacks for reasonable prices.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed at the Novotel for five nights while attending an international conference at the Rai Convention Centre. The hotel is a comfortable 8 - 10 min.walk away from the Rai entrance and only about 100 meters from the tram and train station. It was a perfect business hotel with all the basic amenities. My room was small with two twin beds, but after a long night of travel across the pond, the fact that they had any room available/ready for me to check-in early was wonderful! The hotel was clean, modern and inviting. I stayed on a high floor facing the city and the "light shows" in the distance were intriguing and made for a great night view over the flat landscape. Service in the hotel's restaurant was very friendly but painfully slow. On the day of my arrival, I dozed off while waiting for lunch and I was the only customer in the place! Subsequently, with early workshops, I was discouraged from trying breakfast there. This was a big mistake. The breakfast buffet was a welcome treat and provided one of the better selections I have experienced anywhere and should not be missed. The area immediately around the hotel is pretty bland and disappointing — absolutely nothing to speak of. Adjacent to the Rai Centre, however, I found a great selection of restaurants and dining options that catered to the single business traveller. While the hotel is quiet and seems isolated, the regular tram and train service makes the 20 min. ride downtown pretty convenient and proved to be just as fast as taking a cab. Novotel proved to be the perfect location for the Conference Centre and a great base from which to explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the city to see the city lights in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Carlos R,

Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you had a nice stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Unfortunately the service in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. My sincerest apologies.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.