We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highs and some lows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some highs and some lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The good things:
--Room was clean and comfortable. Had two types of pillows which was nice
--Friendly service
--Good breakfast
--Handy to the RAI where I attended a conference
--Across the street from Amstel park

The less good things:
--Dinner was only ok. The appetizer was nice but main course of Cod was so so. There are a lot of good restaurants within a 20 minute walk so I would head out.
--Wireless in the room was very slow and a continual problem. Had to pay for the wired connection for my computer to get a decent speed. Big problem on a business trip
--I would probably not choose this location for a tourist trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear TravelerSteve,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

My apologies not everything went well during your stay. Unfortunately we had some problems regarding our WIFI, which are all solved by now.

I am glad to read you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our friendly staff and you had a clean and comfortable room which is really important during your stay.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    679
    200
    51
    21
See reviews for
321
281
87
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here end of January 2014. In our party, there was 6 of us ( 3 couples) in 3 double rooms for 2 nights.
We stayed here as part of a mini cruise and stay package. As you walked into the hotel, everywhere was marble, shiny and polished. The hotel check in staff were very helpful with information about the area and how best to travel around Amsterdam. One thing that annoyed us was the fact that they take 70 euros off your debit/credit card as security. When we came to check out it was suggested that we had taken a breakfast on one of the mornings. This was not true and sorted out quite quickly in our favour. However I wanted the 70 euros put back onto the same card as we hadn`t used any of this. This was refused and I was given the euros back in cash.! Why.? What was the point.? I exchanged the same 70 euros back into GBP whilst back in England and got a shocking exchange rate back. For this my review would have been 4 out of 5, but their ridiculous security bond ended up costing me.

The rooms were spacious and clean with large windows. Our room was on the back of the hotel and the view, ten floors up, over-looked a canal and large council estate. This didn`t bother us as we didn`t come to Amsterdam for a hotel view. A few English speaking news channels on the tv and coffee/tea facilities were available (enough for one cup each). The coffee in the shop on the ground floor was decent though. The large double bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large enough for us. The room had plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe and a free to use safe. The lift landing had an ice maker and shoe polisher on each floor. Downstairs we found that the bar was very expensive as was the breakfast price (which is why we had breakfast in Amsterdam centre).

The location is out of the centre but, the number 4 trams terminus is just over the road. These trams run about every 10 minutes and the tram takes you straight into the city centre and takes about 10 minutes to travel. The last tram heading towards the hotel leaves the city centre at midnight. I would stay here again but, I would take less money than I need in cash as the hotel will give me 70 euros in cash of my own money when I leave.!!

My top tip is as follows. Check out at the hotel is 11am. So if you`re like us and you`re on a mini cruise and stay. Amsterdam Central Railway Station is at the very end of the number 4 tramline. For 5 euros and 10 cents (Paid by debit/credit card), you can just turn up and have a large locker to keep your suitcase/bag locked up. This enables you to walk around bag free until the coach picks you up at the station around 5pm to take you back to the ferry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear AVFC4life,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read you had a nice stay with us at Novotel Amsterdam City.

I am sorry to read that our deposit procedure did not meet your expectations. Please let me allow to explain you what happened.
Every guest has to pay a deposit of € 70 to guarantee the use of minibar, telephone ect. If you pay the deposit by a regular credit card (Visa, Amex, Diners and Euro-Master) we will do an authorization on your credit card. This authorization will expire as soon as you have checked out. Depending on the credit card company, within a few days you have the possibility to use these € 70 again.
You have paid you deposit with a Visa-debit card (and not a credit card). This means that it takes approximately 40 days before the authorization will expire. We had some complaints from previous guests about this. Therefore we have decided to give the € 70 in cash at check out. Our receptionist has explained you this during check in.

If you have any further questions about this, please do not hesitate to contact me directly (H0515-AM@accor.com).

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in august 2013, and i can say that was not the most memorable experience. Is not great if u stay as a tourist, a little far from the city center and not many options in the area. Still is relatively clean, near airport and tram number 4 wich goes in the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear energystar2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to read you did not had a memorable stay 6 months ago. Our location is indeed not in the city centre. On the other hand, for guests who like to escape the hustle and bustle of the city centre our location is perfect. The tram station is about 5 minutes walk and brings you within 20 minutes to the centre.

Besides our own URBN restaurant we have many other restaurants nearby; italian, french, international etc.
Just outside the door you will enter the Amstelpark which was part of the Floriade back in 1972. Still you can find beautiful gardens full of flowers, trees etc. And you can also play minigolf.

Enough to do and to see!

Hopefully we could welcome you back at Novotel Amsterdam City in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent two nights at the Novotel courtesy of a cruise and stay deal which worked out at £111 per person which was a bargain.
We were instantly impressed with the hotel, the staff were friendly, spoke excellent English and the whole place had a polished, upmarket feel to it. Check in was painless and swift and our room was clean, tidy and well decorated.
The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows and our towels and sheets were changed even on a two night stay.
The bathroom was again, clean, tidy and spacious. Overall the hotel felt like it had been recently decorated, which contributed to the relaxed, friendly atmosphere.
We were also surprised to find an ice machine on the landing, a mini fridge in the room and the free wi fi was a bonus.
Our stay was peaceful and quiet and we were never bothered by other guests.
The hotel is some way outside of central Amsterdam, but the terminus for the #4 tram is a 2 minute walk away and takes you to central station in 20 minutes. The museum quarter and De Pijp areas are closer still, so unless you want to be in the centre of the action in the city all the time, there's no reason not to stay here- overall, a great break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear AndyYorks77,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated, especially by our staff.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here as I was organsing an exhibition at the RAI. Very close to the tram which take you directly into the centre of Amsterdam. Nice friendly staff and the room was very comfortable. Restaurant was very lovely especially for drinks and grub after a long tiring day at the RAI. One thing that really stood out for me was the quirky decor and modern furniture. It will make a good base for business as well as pleasure as its so close to the city and great transportation links.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear maidenheadexpat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a wonderful stay.

I am looking forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Amsterdam City.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

me and 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights and we were very satisfied with everything! The breakfast buffet specially was top. Service very friendly & helpful. Very clean from the room to the wellness area. really enjoyed staying here..thanks to novotel team!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Yna_Clarenz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated, also by our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Amsterdam City

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel for two days last June while visiting several countries in Europe. Although the hotel was not near the city center it is near tram #4 which was only a 15 minute ride into the city and a 24 hour pass was only 7.50 euros. Over all the food, rooms and service were very good although the bar and restaurant were just a little pricy. This is a hotel that we will stay at again if we ever return to the beautiful city of Amsterdam but alas there are many countries left on out bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Latitude_38,

Thank you very much for you positive comment on TripAdvisor. Positive feedback from our guests is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.