We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family friendly hotel within easy access to the airport and city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #90 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice family friendly hotel within easy access to the airport and city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Been to this hotel for a short Christmas break this year. We stayed for three nights and based on my overall experience I would strongly recommend this hotel to others. There are some pros and cons and I highlighted them below:

Pros:

Staffs are very friendly and always helpful. Check in was as smooth as possible. Lobby, coffee corner and the dinning room is very attractive and well maintained. Breakfast was great with plenty of choices. I particularly liked the concept of custom made omelette in the kitchen. It was very busy during the Christmas break and there was always long queue for the breakfast but the staffs managed everything quite efficiently and we didn't have to wait long. We had dinner for two consecutive nights in the hotel restaurant and the standard was quite high. The restaurant doesn't have a lot of selection but good enough for treating yourself for a lovely dinner. Within the lobby there are quite a few Apple Mac with printer and I found it very hepeful as I had to take print out after online check in. Location was excellent as the train station 'Amsterdam Rai' is very nearby and only 15 minutes from the Amsterdam Airport station which is just underneath the Amsterdam Schilpol airport. Number 4 Tram terminus is at stone throwing distance from the hotel and will take you to the city centre within 20 minutes.

Cons:

The room was not as attractive as the lobby or dining hall. I was bit disappointed with the room size (which seems to be slight smaller than standard Novotel rooms) and expected the carpet was in slightly better condition.We were staying on the 12th floor and WiFi connection was very poor. There is also Ethernet internet connection available in the room but please note that you need to pay for that, however, the WiFi is free.

In general this is a good hotel full of efficient staffs and highly recommended especially if you are travelling as family with kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rana_Ghosal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

Regarding your comment about the carpet; in the nearest future we will renew the carpets in the rooms. We are just finished renewing the corridors.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    765
    231
    59
    25
See reviews for
368
326
92
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Staying here was so easy because it is close to the tram stop and easy to get into the city and move around Amsterdam. Breakfast is really great and we had a good stay here. Was a bit annoying having to sign a document stating that you wont use drugs in the hotel but aside from that, nice hotel, ok staff, and easy access to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear SheriLein,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Novotel while at a business conference in Amsterdam. There are 2 good things about the hotel, the lobby (nicely designed) and breakfast which was pretty rich. The rooms are small, and location is really bad and far from anything central. Don't stay in this hotel while on vacation

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nadav L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I am sorry to read the location did not meet your expectations. The tram stop is only 5 minutes walking distances and brings you within 20 minutes to the city center. An other optioin is to rent a bike at the reception, which is typically Dutch. In this way you can explore the surroundings, for example the 'Amsterdamse bos' and the Rijksmuseum (10 minutes by bike).

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very good weekend-deal on family making city trip to Amsterdam. Downtown Amsterdam is lnly tram-ride away (20 minutes). Rooms are spacious, breakfast copious and parking easily to be found with the hotel being located right by the ring road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear geertvdh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was such a horrible experience, would not repeat it ever! There were three of us sharing one tiny room with a double bed and a sofa bed. It was room 716, the carpet had such bad stains on it over by the window. The room is really old fashioned and badly in need of an update. The bathroom has no lock on the door. I asked at reception if we could change to a room with three bed or even two real beds and I was amazed that for such a huge hotel with such a large amount of rooms it does not even have one room with more than one bed, as I was told at reception, a joke. Reception was so unhelpful, basically laughed at me and dismissed me when I told them how unhappy I was with the room. We have another 3 nights left in this hotel and I am not looking forward to it but we are stuck here now as the hotel is prepaid for. We ate in the restaurant last night, food is good, restaurant stylish and modern but service very slow. The hotel is not very central, takes a 20 minute tram journey from central Amsterdam, I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Neil Ross S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

As I can see in your booking you have made a reservation through Booking.com. In the description of our superior triple room is written:

Room size: 22 m2
Bed size(s): 1 sofa bed, 1 large double bed.

In this way we inform all of our (potential) guest what they could expect of a superior triple room.

Regarding the carpet, we are renewing our carpet in phases.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.