We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Green Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #88 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Eco Green Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The pleasant pale coloured green exterior lends credibility to the ecology policy of the hotel which is quite comfortable in most respects. Reception staff was pleasant but too helpful-acting like a concierge to the new arrivals so the check in was too slow.
Location is great if you have an event in RAI or the adjoining Conference Center. Rates vary with the events happening in these two venues and so value for money varies. The location from the airport (10 mins and 2.50 euro ticket) to the nearby Amsterdam RAI station makes an ideal location for many, though tourists would need a daily ticket (7.50e) to go to town and move around by tram (25 mins) or Metro (15 mins) (single journey tickets are available though).
Rooms are comfortable and decent sizes with a small sofa to relax on. View is not great but that is a locational issue. The housekeeping is very poor though. You will be woken up before 8 for cleaning the room unless you put the 'Don't Disturb sign. The standard of cleaning is the worst I have seen in years. Everything lying on the table, floor, sink, is left untouched and room is left untidy. I could not find the TV remote and on the last evening started looking for it frantically lest I were billed for it. It was ensconced under the cushions on the sofa-not touched for TWO days! Perhaps, the staff is overworked and they are given very little time to clean a room because of the huge number of rooms (over 400, I think).
Breakfast room is huge with perhaps 200 covers. But the railway platform look is somehow avoided by breaking it into 3 compartmentalized zones. The variety is quite sumptuous too with good service by the staff.
Did someone complain about the WiFi? It's the best I have found in the world so far! Of course, its free and works well in the room, restaurant and lobby. But they even have 4 Mac machines with wide screens and a software that takes you to any email site, airlines etc, in a second. The Net speed is amazing, I thought. The lobby has been refurbished and my room wasn't so far (refurbishing is being done in steps) but still it was fine. The hotel even sells the day tickets by local transport- a very helpful feature. There is a Spa that I didn't use so can't comment. In short, ideal for some-not so attractive to others.

Room Tip: Try a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear wineguyindia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments in general regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I am sorry to read the cleanliness of your room was not what you have expected. The room maids start every morning at 8.30 a.m. to start cleaning the check outs. Usually after mid day they will start cleaning the stay overs. According to procedure they are not allowed to touch and/or remove the things of the guest. This to avoid missing things.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    765
    231
    59
    25
See reviews for
368
326
92
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I like this Hotel , wonderful place as its located on quite area with no noise at all yet it’s still close to the city center by using the tram , only 15 minutes you will reach the Dam Square , 20 M to reach the central station and 10 minutes by train to reach the Airport .

If you are birder , its ideal location due to the nice opposite park where you can spot many birds and squirrels . also 10 Minutes walk from the hotel you could see the Typical Dutch landmark …a wonderful Windmill!

If you are Business man , it’s also so close to Rai conference center just 5 Minutes walk !

Friendly Staff, nice rooms and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear egisioux,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Nice to read you have noticed all the different birds and squirrels in our 'Amsterdamse Bos'.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Efficient reception upon check in. Room is nice and adequately sized. Breakfast is good. Location is good for RAI, though a little bit far from Amsterdam downtown. The tram station and NS train station is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Micjas,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Let me start with, this is not my typical type of hotel. Most of my traveling is for pleasure and cultural immersion. I tend to stay at accommodations that are above a hostel but below, or at least at the low end of, a three-figured price. I was booked here by work for a conference. Even with our group discount, this hotel cost more than i would normally spend on a hotel. I thought this would be an opportunity to see how the "upper-class" travelled. My conclusion: stupidly.

The location was great for the conference at the RAI centre. And even though it's not downtown, it was easy to get around because you're close to the train, trams and buses. As well, the nearby neighbourhoods have a lot to offer with reasonably priced restaurants and stores.

But the hotel itself, although nice on the surface, was horrible.

The wifi must be hacked from another hotel or cafe. It was shockingly slow and unreliable. Some days we gave up on trying something as simple as reading emails.

The rooms themselves were fine. However, I'm a little disgusted by the cleaning habits. I shared the room with a colleague for a convention, who luckily happens to be a friend. But I still didn't appreciate the forced closeness of the towels and pillows. We didn't put our towels in the tub to be replaced. We put them in separate areas so that we could access them later. The cleaning staff moved them both to the bathroom. They obviously weren't new ones. Who's was who's?!? And, because of the different sizes of pillows, we know that they interchanged the pillows from one bed to another. Not reassuring in terms of cleanliness.

At check-in there was a mistake with our reservation. We had to take an upgraded room for one night at almost double the cost. The added benefit? A few extra toiletries and the use of a terry cloth robe. There was also mention of free use of the mini bar, but because the description if its "freeness" kept changing we opted not to risk drinking a 10€ bottle of water.

Our company emailed immediately to the group reservations to take care of the confusion. When we checked with the front desk the next day, we were told that everything was taken care of, the first night was included with the booked reservation, and we would not be charged personally. So we didn't pursue the matter any further. However, at check out on Sunday (3 days later), when we could no longer contact anyone, we were told that we had to pay for the first night. We explained that we were told differently earlier. However the person checking us out didn't care.

At this point we don't know if we've double paid for the room. Yes, work will eventually pay us back. But with exchange rates, bank transfer fees, and credit card charges, we are now out money for no reason other than incompetence and indifference on the part of the staff. Absolutely shameful ... especially given the rates and the ratings of the hotel.

I would never return to the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. If I needed to return for a conference, I would make my own reservations somewhere else. Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear charli246,

Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Could you please let me know by e-mail when you have stayed in our hotel and what your room number was? In this way I could check with my team what happened and I can take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
H0515-AM@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Been to the hotel many times as it is preferred by clients. Always a pleasure as it is a very nice hotel.

Has all the facilities and always fully booked.

Only down side is now swimming pool, however Gym is good.

As for food, considering it is a 4* / 5* it is value for money compared to other places in the area.

Staff are very helpful and professional at all times

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Paren S.,

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, with exceptional lobby and fantastic breakfast!
Room were spacious,comforatble with new bathroom with modern decoration.
Its very close to RAI (5 min. on foot) and near to tram station to go to the city centre.
The negatives: restaurant and mini bar very expensive!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights October 2013

Requested and received high floor; 2 Adts & 1 13 y.o. Standard room had sufficient space with sofa bed in use. Room clean and there were a few english TV channels

Very good, if busy, breakfast. Staff helpful and courteous throughout stay.

Location for us was excellent for us. Two stations from Schipol to RAI station. RAI station is on the metro direct into centre but far better mode of transport was the number 4 tram which is at the same terminus. 2 minute walk from Hotel and 20-25 min journey to centre. If you are staying for a few days and using public transport, I would reccommend the 24/48/72 hour travel pass -purchased from the ticket machines inside the RAI station.

There is not much around hotel in terms of nightlife, but two stops on the tram took you into local amenities, with a couple of restaurants - Italian & Egyptian and a local bar - situated opposite RAI conference centre.

The X-box console needed a bit of "TLC" in the children's area. Good wifi in main areas

Would stay again and reccommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.