We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, especially for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #80 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, especially for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staff were confident, happy, good service ethic, well organised and keen to help. Everything you want when staying on business. The connections from the hotel were excellent, taxis outside, tram & train a short walk away, plus there is a small shopping centre close by. This isn't well signposted and it's in a residential area, but only 15 mins walk away on AJ Ernststraat. There are some nice shops & good places to eat here. Only critisism is food at hotel is expensive, but it's what you expect at a hotel such as this. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    676
    200
    50
    21
See reviews for
318
280
87
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend trip to Amsterdam with my family. It is really an excellent hotel from the minute you walk in the door till you leave. The staff are just great all the time. I messed up my booking and the sorted it out. Reception was really attentative at all times. Anything we wanted was taken care of immediately. Breakfast was really well organised and efficient and really good. I get the impression that everyone in this hotel are really well trained. They are also all very friendly. I love the architecture of the lobby and dining area too. It's not far to town at all maybe 15min by tram which is practically around the corner. The only thing I would change is I'd prefer a harder matress on the double bed and on the sofa bed. My wife thought the matress was OK but for me any my son they could have been harder.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Willie2000,

Thank you for the comment you posted on this website! We aim to make every stay a success through our colleagues and I am extremely pleased to read that we were able to show this. I will be sure to share your comment with the staff and hope hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tervuren
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I must say that my stay at this hotel was very good. Ample parking space, very professional check-in staff, good breakfast and friendly staff. You expect this everywhere but this hotel also delivers it. Recommended especially if you have to be at some conference at the RAI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringerike, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Maybe it's just me, but I can not sleep at all if the bed is too hard. And these beds are too hard. When you get up in the morning and the first thing you think is "ouch", you have not had a good nights sleep. I don't know why they have to make beds like this nor why they put them in the hotels rooms, but if you are allergic to hard beds, do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Camilla,

Thank you for taking the time to give fedback on your stay, even though I was sad to hear you did not have a good nights sleep.

We try to find the perfect bed to fit the wishes of all our guests, including those who might have a preference for a firmer bed or who want to limit the problems caused by dust in some other bed types.

As we know all our guests are individuals, we do have options available for softening the bed, for example by adding special mattress covers. I would encourage you to let us know if you prefer a softer bed, so we can solve this problem during your stay. Sadly, I can not change your experience now and all I can do is to let you know we are gladly available to assist you in improving your stay next time.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is actually my very first time providing a review for a hotel, and I'm doing so because my experience is so laughably awful that I hope to discourage people from a similar experience. I experienced 10-15 problems over the course of my 5 day stay, which was so inconvenient, especially given I was staying for business. And the staff were so rude and unhelpful! Dirty rooms, placed in the wrong rooms, replaced my key card 9 times and poor dinner service. Worst hotel stay of my life. Stay away!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear miss U,

I hope you understand that I was shocked to read your review. We try to offer the best possible service and obviously, this did not happen, for which I opologise.

Because it is not possible to contact you through the website, I have taken the liberty of contacting you through the guest satisfaction program.

Kind regards and hoping we will be able to get in touch.

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

1st time to Europe and this was one of the top 3 places we stayed (out of 11) Highly recommended, great good, comfortable bed, friendly service, very modern, large rooms compared to most! Breakfast is a huge spread and you cant go wrong - something for everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love this hotel, staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The coffee shop is handy and reasonably priced. The restaurant is quite pricey but serves fantastic food. Room was spacious and had a nice view. Tram a 2 minute walk away taking you into central amsterdam. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.