We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was not good at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #103 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ringerike, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bed was not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Maybe it's just me, but I can not sleep at all if the bed is too hard. And these beds are too hard. When you get up in the morning and the first thing you think is "ouch", you have not had a good nights sleep. I don't know why they have to make beds like this nor why they put them in the hotels rooms, but if you are allergic to hard beds, do not stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Camilla,

Thank you for taking the time to give fedback on your stay, even though I was sad to hear you did not have a good nights sleep.

We try to find the perfect bed to fit the wishes of all our guests, including those who might have a preference for a firmer bed or who want to limit the problems caused by dust in some other bed types.

As we know all our guests are individuals, we do have options available for softening the bed, for example by adding special mattress covers. I would encourage you to let us know if you prefer a softer bed, so we can solve this problem during your stay. Sadly, I can not change your experience now and all I can do is to let you know we are gladly available to assist you in improving your stay next time.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    909
    275
    71
    34
See reviews for
476
383
103
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is actually my very first time providing a review for a hotel, and I'm doing so because my experience is so laughably awful that I hope to discourage people from a similar experience. I experienced 10-15 problems over the course of my 5 day stay, which was so inconvenient, especially given I was staying for business. And the staff were so rude and unhelpful! Dirty rooms, placed in the wrong rooms, replaced my key card 9 times and poor dinner service. Worst hotel stay of my life. Stay away!!!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear miss U,

I hope you understand that I was shocked to read your review. We try to offer the best possible service and obviously, this did not happen, for which I opologise.

Because it is not possible to contact you through the website, I have taken the liberty of contacting you through the guest satisfaction program.

Kind regards and hoping we will be able to get in touch.

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

1st time to Europe and this was one of the top 3 places we stayed (out of 11) Highly recommended, great good, comfortable bed, friendly service, very modern, large rooms compared to most! Breakfast is a huge spread and you cant go wrong - something for everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love this hotel, staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The coffee shop is handy and reasonably priced. The restaurant is quite pricey but serves fantastic food. Room was spacious and had a nice view. Tram a 2 minute walk away taking you into central amsterdam. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and stayed at the Novotel Amsterdam City earlier this month, as he was attending a conference at the exhibition center. This is a plain wrap business person's hotel. From the outside, the hotel resembles old soviet block style apartment housing. The rooms are bland and without character or charm. The amenities in the room are Motel 6 -- bad, smelly soap, plastic preformed tub/shower/sink, limp shower curtain. Daily maid service was late and poor. There were still hairs in the bathroom sink and on the floor after cleaning. The only things this place has going for it are its proximity to the conference center, its size (huge -- good for large groups), its excellent breakfast, and a few lovely front desk attendants. If you are a tourist, do not stay here -- it is a good 15-20 minutes by cab in to the center of town, a 45 minute walk. If you are staying here as part of a conference, I hope you won't have to spend much time in your hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

location is very good, Tram 4 to the center is just a few walk in a safe area, reception staff very helpfull always with nice smiles, Breakfast is considered the best among Novotel international , Taxi 24/7 at the hotel entrance with normal prices, rooms are clean , we really enjoyed our 3 nights stay in this lovely city , thanks to all the staff and the management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a business orientated hotel, that clearly understands and caters for the business traveller.
Excellent staff in the reception and restaurant areas.
Rooms are reasonable sized, well equipped and very clean.
Free WiFi was good.
Breakfast was good ( we were charged extra) but can get busy, between 08h00 and 08h45. This also applies to the bar area in the later part of the evenings, and the bar staff were unable to cope at times.
While hotel is out of main tourist area, it is very close to train station and tram stop ( Tram No 4) that takes you to the main Station and tourist areas, within 20 minutes.
Tip - they advise you to checkout and pay, the evening before you leave, if there is a conference taking place - heed this advise, or you could wait 20 to 30 minutes to check out!
Overall a good experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#148 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.8 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, ACCOR, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.