We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #85 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Alexandria, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

location is very good, Tram 4 to the center is just a few walk in a safe area, reception staff very helpfull always with nice smiles, Breakfast is considered the best among Novotel international , Taxi 24/7 at the hotel entrance with normal prices, rooms are clean , we really enjoyed our 3 nights stay in this lovely city , thanks to all the staff and the management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    738
    217
    56
    25
See reviews for
360
313
87
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a business orientated hotel, that clearly understands and caters for the business traveller.
Excellent staff in the reception and restaurant areas.
Rooms are reasonable sized, well equipped and very clean.
Free WiFi was good.
Breakfast was good ( we were charged extra) but can get busy, between 08h00 and 08h45. This also applies to the bar area in the later part of the evenings, and the bar staff were unable to cope at times.
While hotel is out of main tourist area, it is very close to train station and tram stop ( Tram No 4) that takes you to the main Station and tourist areas, within 20 minutes.
Tip - they advise you to checkout and pay, the evening before you leave, if there is a conference taking place - heed this advise, or you could wait 20 to 30 minutes to check out!
Overall a good experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this property on a quick trip to Amsterdam for a trade show at the RAI. Very convenient location and easy to get to and from the airport by train. Hotel has good food and a decent bar for meetings. Would return if going to RAI again but would not be my choice for a personal break as its away from the city. Tram gets you into the city easily but main attraction is the proximity to the RAI. And yes they price it accordingly making it a rather expensive option - there are other options near the RAI which should/could be considered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam. As you mentioned, there are many options for staying in a hotel in Amsterdam, though we believe you have chosen the best option.

Secondly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. I am glad to read that we were able to provide you with a good base for your visit and that our goal of providing both leisure and business facilities seems to work. You rightly state that this does come at a cost, and that cheaper facilities are available, but we gladly take up the challenge to prove that Novotel Amsterdam City offers the best value for money all things considered.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. If you are a member of our LeCLub Accorhotels program, we might even be able to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueira da Foz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip wich took place in RAI. The hotel is five minutes walking from RAI station and RAI Amsterdam congress center.
The hotel is new, elegant and confortable, with nice and friendly staff.
The rooms are not very big but confortable with excellent beds.
Breakfast was good
It's a bit far from town center, getting there it's simple by TRAM (nº4) or Metro but comming back at night requires a taxi (16 to 20 € ) if you return after 00.30h.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip, and enjoyed my stay, however, I would not stay here if I were a tourist in Amsterdam as it is a bit out of town.
nice hotel, and very nice staff.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
One thing that drove me crazy though was the thimble sized tea cups!!!... Please get bigger cups, I can't stand having to refill my cup 5 times just to have a normal rekaxing cup of tea at breakfast - it is quite stressful actually!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

close to Amsterdam Rai train station, which is 15 min from Schipol by train. breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice and excellent fresh fruit. bar has good service, but closes at 1am, and all were asked to go to front lounge to finish drinks. room was good sized, and exellent bed for a good night's sleep. everything worked and for business traveller, it was an excellent hotel. staff was very helpful. taxi stand is just outside the hotel - taxis are expensive in Amsterdam so beware! trams are best value to go from hotel to amsterdam city centre,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean Hotel , good service .....good breakfast spread. Though it is located far off from the city but is well connected by trams and bus. It's like any other normal business hotel and is well maintained.
The interiors are modern .

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.