We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beaten if you are going to the Amsterdam RAI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, Amsterdam 1083 AD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten if you are going to the Amsterdam RAI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are visiting a show or event at the Amsterdam RAI Exhibition Centre, this without question is the place to stay.

The location is perfect - a five minute walk to the RAI - and the whole service ethos of the hotel is fast and unfussy to cater for the busy and often stressed exhibition visitor and convention delegate.

Rooms are modern and clean and while not luxurious, certainly are plenty comfortable enough if essentially all you are doing is requiring somewhere to lay your head after a long day at a show.

The bar/restaurant is good too and I thought the breakfast selection in particular had an unusual and very cosmopolitan range of options.

On the last day of exhibitions, the queue for checking out can be quite lengthy I have found, but the front desk staff do seem willing to handle the admin the night before which is a boon.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms tend to get hot during summer months due to solar gain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    639
    187
    51
    20
See reviews for
286
268
85
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

what can i say . . . it is a nice lovely comfortable hotel and the staff are so helpfull and cooperative.
room are excellent and the breakfast is really full.
location is to far from the center but you can take the tram which is near the hotel tram number 4 to take you to Dam square . . trams are so slow 30 minutes t be there.
Muayad
State of Kuwait

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was the place selected by event organisers as the place to stay. Ordinarily I would research hotels in the area, then book.

On entering the hotel I was struck by the wonder modern look and feel of the reception. On arriving hours earlier than the suggested time to check, the staff couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring I had my room without any delay.

The room has all the normal facilities you'd expect, however, the free wifi signal was weak. This could have been that the room was at the end of the corridor, farthest from the central areas. I had several minor bug bares; I hate paper cups for brews in the room, the lack on none powdered milk, there was some dirty marks on the wallpaper, the pillows were not sufficient and the mini bar had two items inside. Whilst these are minor issues, it really irritated me that wifi and the TV went down on for some 5 hours, which meant I was unable to work. I should give due credit to the hotel for attempting to keep me informed, however, where the communication was good, it was repetitive and inaccurate. if they'd have said it was going to be down all afternoon and or understood their system, I would have found somewhere else to work.

The food was really good, not too expensive ie. 20 euro for steak, breakfast had plenty of choice.

Lastly, ive never been offered refund. I booked online, paid online then as told taxes or lack of eating breakfast I was entitled to the refund... happy days... All in all, a very pleasant experience and the manager should be pleased and proud of the staff...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Be aware that this hotel is not right in Amsterdam city - despite its name. However it is less than five minutes walk to the tram stop ( the end of the number 4 tram line), the train / metro station, and about ten minutes walk to the RAI Convention Centre. It is also quite close to Schipol airport. The rooms are clean and comfortable in the Novotel style, and the restaurant offers a good breakfast buffet and wide menu. There is a 'cafe' in the reception area where I got a coffee and croissant on the go, which is a good option to have. It's a good choice as long as you don't want a city centre location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just returned back to uk from a 3 night stay. Staff very competent and friendly, even the maid on floor 8 greeted you every morning with a cheery smile. Check in/out was quick. Our room exceeded our expectation. The use of a fridge was a big help and the luxury of a very large bathroom with a deep bath was just the tonic after walking round all day. Buffet breakfast was nice and catered for every nationality. All good quality food. Tram number 4 from central station takes 15/20 mins and stops about 200 yards from hotel so don't worry if you think its far out. We took train to Leiden for the day which cot 32 euro for 2 return tickets. That was a beautiful place well worth a visit. Less people, less bikes but many canals and shops to explore.

Mr Manager of Novotel Amsterdam please thank all your staff for making our stay so pleasant. Would definitely stay at Novotel next time were in Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you!!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The buffet is very good...the hot buffet and the cold cut with smoke salmon...and the bread selection were all good...and they also have table for one with a tv set...and the coffee stall in the lobby is very practical ans convinient

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this hotel and found it to be an excellent place to stay. It is only about 200 meters from the number 4 tram stop, which incidentally is the end of the line. That makes it handy if you happen to spend too much time in the pubs or coffee shops! As long as you get on the number 4, you get off at the hotel. The rooms were good sized, as was the bath which had the toilet separate. The restaurant has an East and Western menu, so you can order spring rolls with your pasta if you want! They also have a conference centre which holds over 3000 people so a good choice for conferences as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel
Address: Europaboulevard 10, Amsterdam 1083 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.