We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old badly maintained hotel far from city centre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #87 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old badly maintained hotel far from city centre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just stayed here for one night because of a conference in the hotel. Paid a fortune for an out dated room, smudgy carpet, in a hotel far from the city centre. On top of the high rate they charged me another 22,50 Euro for a cup coffe with a sandwich for breakfast. Given the rate i just wrongly assumed the breakfast was included, the front desk never mentioned it wasn't. For the money there a way better hotels to be found in Amsterdam at a better location. Last visti for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and other travelers about your experience at Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to respond to you and other travelers on the comments given.

Our hotel is located in the south part of the city centre, close the Zuidas Business district and the RAI Exhibition Centre. Travelling to the city centre will take you about 20 minutes by tram (nr.4) and 12 minutes by metro (nr. 51) from the RAI Station closeby. As Novotel Amsterdam City is also located close to the ring road and Schiphol Airport it is a popular location for congresses and events, which was the purpose of your visit.

Room rates depend on the pressure on the market and even though I cannot verify your reservation details I can confirm that May is a busy period in the hotel industry. On your confirmation it should be clearly shown that breakfast was excluded. If a small sandwich and take away coffee would have fulfilled your morning wishes, we offer the coffee corner just in the lobby. The American buffet is differently priced as the range of items is much more various.

In order to be sure of having the best available rate I always advice to book directly with us through novotelamsterdamcity.com.

I am very sorry to read that your room didn’t meet your expectations. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore immediate action when a guest isn't satisfied is our main priority. It would have been highly appreciated if you would have informed us during your stay.

At this point I cannot take away your feeling, however it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    763
    230
    59
    25
See reviews for
368
324
92
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really well designed and run hotel for my needs while away in Amsterdam on business. Not sure I would choose it for a holiday as I prefer smaller, less slick hotels when on holiday (but that's not to say I would discount it say for a short stay in Amsterdam). Room was large, shower worked well, bed was comfortable, fridge in room; only slight issue was with the TV system whose controls were strangely slow and didn't work beyond about a metre. Strong (and free) wifi in room was an excellent and really helpful feature.

Location was good for my meetings and I noticed it was within 5 minutes walk of a RAI station.

If staying in Amsterdam again on business and if the location was right, this will be first on my list to consider using again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

We regret the fact that the television in your room didn't work properly. Because of the anonimity of Tripadvisor we are unable to trace your room number and replace the TV. When you have the opportunity to inform us on this matter, please e-mail us via H0515-AM@accor.com. We thank you for your cooperation in advance.

We look forward to welcome you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed in the Novotel for 1 night with a groups of students. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent and quite clean! Has a nice SPA center. I particularly enjoyed the sauna! The most amazing part was their breakfast. Wide variety of freshly cooked food to satisfy everyone's taste.
There is a big car park if you have vehicle or alternatively taxi to center won't cost a lot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Stella,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 night break the hotel was outstanding and the tram stop took you right to the hotel....rooms were big...great views & the bar and staff were fantastic.....the hotel was just so relaxing you could stay forever!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Cracking hotel - friendly good location good rail links and plenty of taxis if needs be. Rooms were clean and good choice for breakfast in the morning.

Drinks are a tad expensive but its a hotel bar for god sake

You get what you pay for !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Marc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With warm regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice comfortable room, good breakfast(free for kids), excellent-helpful staff.
Slight disadvantage is there are no stores or restaurants nearby,, But Tram no 4 starts very close to the hotel and one can reach the city centre pretty fast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is a bit far from central Amsterdam but it is located very close to train and metro station.

upon my arrival i opted for an upgrade that allowed me to use the frigo-bar freely, get newspapers every morning and use the pay TV as much as i wanted.

I would go back there...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.