We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, close to the RAI convention centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, Amsterdam 1083 AD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Monza, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, close to the RAI convention centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good place to be if you are working at the RAI convention centre, which is only a 10 minutes walk. Close to the metro station, it is easy to reach the city center as well.
Quality is a standard for the Novotel chain, a good quality for a good price.
Very good breakfast buffet. Bar at night closes at 1:00 am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    699
    205
    54
    22
See reviews for
311
277
87
383
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here at the Novotel for 12 days recently on a work trip, for which I needed to be available 24 hours a days via WiFi.

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The downstairs, eating and relaxation areas are very new and a bit modern for my liking. There is a lack of armchairs or nice bar area to relax in the evening.

The rooms look a little worn with the bed-linen and towels a little on the thin side. However the room was spotless and the heating worked perfectly (in a cold Amsterdam this was extremely necessary)

The Wifi worked all over the hotel and there were available several Apple Macs which you could use to print off flight information/boarding cards etc for free.

The breakfast was excellent - the best variety of food (and quality) that I have seen for a while in a business hotel.

Unfortunately the restaurant food wasn't as good. After eating here 2 evening I stopped and went out of ordered room server (basic burgers/salads etc which were good).

The best bit of the Novotel was the staff who were without exception extremely friendly and helpful and always smiling, especially in the bar and restaurant. A mix-up over a bar bill was sorted out without fuss.

I wold recommend this hotel for business or a city trip. It's beside the RAI station which has trains in 10 mins to the airport, or 20 mins by tram (#4) or Metro to the centre.

Room Tip: Higher up for a view over Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

I hereby also take the liberty to also thank you for informing us on the possible improvements we could implement in order to upgrade the service level to our guests. Please trust me when I tell you that this has been discussed in full detail with the departments involved in order to address the problem and preventing of happening again.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is close to RAI railway station.Only 11mins to SPL airport by train.No 4 tram is almost in front of the hotel.It is so easy to reach the city center by No.4 tram.The Dirk supermarket is nearby.If you go to the supermarket on foot,you need 10 mins.So the location is wonderful.Frankly speaking,the room is not that big.But very cosy.Staffs are very helpful and friendly.They make me feel like stay at home.Laundry room is at the 2nd floor.Fitness center is at the 1st floor.Breakfast buffet is at the ground floor.The have almost everything I need.For Asian,they provide cup noodles.The whole hotel is very clean.House keeping staffs are hardworking.So room and bathroom are always clean.Free wifi for crew member.I am not sure whether it is free for the other consumers.Abosolutely,nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Amsterdam as part of a tour group. Our tour director had a lot of trouble checking in, and exchanged very heated words with the staff member - no one in our group could understand the language, but it was very amusing. After nearly 30 minutes, we finally got our rooms, which were clean and nicely set out. The only trouble was the air conditioning, which had been set to 20 degrees, and couldn't be altered. We found the room extremely stuffy, and found sleeping quite uncomfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant, and the food was very nice, and the staff were very attentive. The tram stop is just down the road and takes you into Amsterdam, where we enjoyed all the sights. The hotel has a nice garden area off the bar, where smokers can enjoy their vice in peace. Nice place, and lovely spacious foyer and bar areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was my second trip to the Novotel Amsterdam City. The hotel has a lovely contemporary designed foyer and restaurant area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and functional. Iron and ironing board on request which is not ideal but not too big a deal. While the restaurant serves excellent food the service is extremely slow for both food and drink. This was the case for lunch, with hardly anyone in the place, and dinner, where there was a waiting time to be seated on top of significant delays in getting our meal.

If you are on business in the RAI this is an ideal location, however I would not recommend it for a sightseeing trip to Amsterdam as it is about a 10minute train ride into the centre and there are far more central places to stay.

Overall I would recommend this as a good business hotel with amenities to suit a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went on a family weekend trip. Location: 10 min train to Schipol, and 15 min tram ride to central Amsterdam. The trains for both are very frequent and dat help make this hotel in such a convenient location. Staff very friendly, helpful and will answer all your questions regarding Amsterdam. Rooms could be improved but we're not bothered cuz our main aim of the trip was to experience Amsterdam, sleep was great, no noise and disturbance. Breakfast was amazing. I have stayed in many hotels in europe and this hotel has the best spread of buffet breakfast ever. Great choice of food, can take as many serving as you like, and they won't chase you away until you're full lol. My family really enjoyed the breakfast ( however though this is only worth it if it is inclusive in your room rate).Our flight was not until 9pm on Sunday so they gave us a late check out option at 5pm, which was AWESOME! In summary I cannot find any fault in this hotel, really enjoyed my stay here and overall made my stay in Amsterdam pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: can't comment on children's activities and swimming pool as there aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was further from the centre than we thought/hoped. However the tram and metro were just a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. The tram took about 25 mins to central station, but it was quite an enjoyable ride to see more of the city. There was always a taxi rank outside the hotel.

The rooms were a bit cramped for 3 people, but overall the hotel was nice, clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, Amsterdam 1083 AD, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.