We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near RAI convention center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #81 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near RAI convention center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is convenient located near the RAI convention center (15 minutes walk) and the RAI station with direct connection to the airport. Taxi ride from the aiport lasts ca. 30 minutes and costs 25€ approx.
The lobby and restaurant / bar are new and have a nice design.
Breakfast buffet is very good with a lot of choice (bread, pastry, fresh fruit, pancakes, warm dishes etc.)
Rooms are ok, the probably have been renovated recently. Size is quite small.
Gym is available, running is possible in the Amstelpark (on the other side of the street).
WLAN for free (but quite slow!).
Last year our company stayed at the Holiday Inn for our main exhibition. Rooms there are old, WLAN and breakfast were not included in the rate. Novotel is better and cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    697
    206
    53
    23
See reviews for
340
298
87
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel ist place outside the city center.
It can be reached by either train or cable car within 20 Min.
The personal is polite, the rooms are clean and the buffett is excellent.
Good service at the restaurant!
I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very close to tramline 4 which brings you within 15 minutes to the Central Station. You also can take the metro. Lot of parking space, big hotel, free computers & internet in the lobby, very good restaurant, try the suggestions. Minibar not to expensive.
Friendly girl with a great smile when i checked out :)

For Amsterdam the room was not to small, but i have stayed in other Novotel rooms who where bigger in size and who had a seperate shower, also the window couldn't be opened. For the rest i had a good stay, a very good breakfast and all was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very clean, well equipped modern hotel with great food and a nice bar. Excellent prices on weekend deals.

A bit ut of the centre, taxi costs 15-20 Euros into the tourist sites, but this seemes worth it as we were a group of 4.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel may not be in the centre of Amsterdam but it is convenient enough because it is located next near to the RAI station and a tram terminus.
In 2011 I was taken ill while staying at this hotel and I have to say the staff were amazing, they called doctors, arranged medicine and generally were understanding. I could have asked for little more from them. This is one of the most popular hotels for trade shows because it is a short walk from the RAI exhibition centre, so book well in advance if you need a room.

Room Tip: There are executive rooms on the top floor and a gym on the first floor. The lifts take an age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Average noisy business hotel, conveniently located near park, tram, train and RAI with very friendly staff. Absolutely clean, everything you need for business, but sleeping after 6:30 is a challenge, constant door slamming, coughing neighbours, suitcases rolling, elevator noise, idling busses. Fitness center is good, but for some reason there was no access to the sauna.
All-in-all: suitable for business, but not for exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ok, so we ended up at the Novotel through a Priceline.com bid. We wanted a hotel in Amsterdam and with in 10 minutes walk from City Centre. When we were told by Priceline which hotel was picked for us for our price, it was this place. We tried to get our money back because it is not close at all to what we wanted. But we were of course refused a refund, but assured the distance is much closer than it looked on the map. Not true.

So the review for this hotel....
This place is really far from the center of Amsterdam. The #4 tram takes about half a hour and does not run all night. We were back at the hotel by 10pm each night because we were afraid of missing the last train because this hotel is far. This is a place to stay if you want to be near the airport or something.

The downstairs looks very modern and with big screen iMacs for use, fancy sushi restaurant. But when we arrived to our room, this was not the case. Small for the price. No air flow. My friend and I both left with colds.

If you want to enjoy the city, do not stay here. Find a place with real character in the centre. Actual walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us and other travelers about your stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I therefore would like to reply on some of your comments in order to inform other travelers about this review.

I regret the fact that you were not well informed on the location of our hotel. Novotel Amsterdam City is located in the south part of Amsterdam, close to the business centre ‘Zuid As’ and the RAI Congress & Exhibition Centre. Public transport facilities are available in close vicinity of the hotel. Tram number 4 is a direct line from the RAI station within a 3 minute walk of the hotel and brings you in about 20 minutes to Dam Square. Metro 51 brings you in 15 minutes to Central Station and the train brings you to Schiphol Airport within 10 minutes. All options run until midnight.

All our hotel rooms are equipped with an air cooling system and windows can be opened.

Of course, I regret the fact that the above has affected your overall feeling of your visit to Amsterdam.

I do thank you for informing us on this matter and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With kind regards,
NOVOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY


Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.