We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast, free wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #88 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, free wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Even the room is a lit bit little, the other facts are very satisfactory. The breakfast buffet is very good, there are nearly everything someone wants. The waiters are very kind and helpful. There is free wifi in the rooms and free desktops in reception. You can easily reach to hotel from Schipol airport with train. Also you can use tram line 4 for going to city center and you can connect the trams to go other places.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    754
    225
    59
    25
See reviews for
365
321
89
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October and really enjoyed it. It isnt difficult to reach the hotel from the Airport. People have already covered how to do this so I wont detail it here.

The city centre is approximately 20 minutes away on Tram Line 4 and it was simple and cheap to use. We bought a 3 day ticket on the first day and that was all our transportation costs taken care of (apart from the airport). Just a quick point, if you are planning on going to the Heineken Experience, this is actually passed on your way into the centre.

I can't fault the hotel in any way really. Breakfast was amazing and included with our booking, which Iam really pleased with. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Apart from breakfast we didnt actual eat or drink in the hotel because we eat in the centre, so im afraid I cant help out much there.

The staff were nice and helpful.

If your looking for somewhere to base yourself for a series of long wild nights out in Amsterdam city centre then this probably isnt the hotel for you. Because its not a central location you will probably have to get a taxi back if its late. But it was perfect for us and allowed us to investigate the city over the 3 days.

If I was coming back to Amsterdam again and could get a similar price, I wouldnt even bother looking for another hotel, Id just stay here again and not give it a moments thought.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Wi-fi all around, super clean, excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a typical Novotel, the only thing amiss is plastic cups in the rooms instead of glasses, however inexpensive. Location is a problem however. It's in south Amsterdam, half an hour's drive from the centre, next to the Zuid station. You can get there direct from Schiphol airport either by train or by car, no need to go to the centre at all. It is supposed to be close to the train station, but it isn't really, not if you've got any luggage. The business district of Zuidas is a 20-minute vigorous walk. The hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere, with just residential streets around it. Not even a shopping centre really close, no next door restaraunts or cafes or anything. Why they built it there I can't understand. If you're there for the business district, try the Crown Plaza, or maybe Hilton or the one across the street from it -- its a much shorter walk.

Room Tip: 25 Euro upgrade is worth the while
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Mslavina,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us and other travelers about your stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. I would like to reply on some of your comments in order to inform other travelers about your review.

Our hotel is indeed located in the south part of Amsterdam, close to the business centre ‘Zuid-As’ (1 stop by metro) and the RAI Congress & Exhibition Centre (5-7 minutes walking distance). Our hotel welcomes a large number of guests who come for a congress or Exhibition at the RAI. Apart from that, the metro or tram brings you into the city centre within 15-20 minutes which makes our hotel also an ideal location for tourists visiting the city of Amsterdam.

Apart from our two restaurants with an Asian style and International menu, the closest restaurants outside of the hotel are located within a 10 minute walk. Of course, I regret this wasn't up to your expections.

At last I would like to explain the type of cups used in all our rooms. Novotel Amsterdam City is commited to the Earth Check program (sustainable development) and we have certification for managing our hotel respecting nature and our environment in as many ways possible. Instead of plastic we offer paper cups which are recyclable.

I do thank you for informing us on your overall stay at Novotel Amsterdam City and it is our hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
NOVOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY


Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

novotel looks a new place in the city and is a spacious and an big place for normally what we get in europe. I thought the place is good and rooms really spacious. The hotel may be outside the city but the Ra 1 stn tram no 4 ends outside the hotel door. So is absolutely no problem commuting from city. the hotel has a great ambinece and food as well. The restaurant is beautifully done and the staff was pretty cordial and efficient. must say looks quite an posh place as compared to other older hotels in the city. All rooms are no smoking but can try some luck if windows are open. WI FI is FOC!

Room Tip: higher the floor better it is. All rooms no sm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

For a 4* hotel I was very disappointed with the room. It should be a 2* hotel! The rooms were small and the interior was horrible. It was very dark and cold. I was so disappointed with the room that I asked the hotel manager if I could be moved to a different room. I also thought they would compliment me because it was my birthday, but they said that all the rooms were the same. I could not believe it. I was upset because I thought the layout of the room would be similar to the one in Birmingham. Nonetheless, the only thing I liked about the hotel was some of the staff. The service was swift, they were happy and helpful. Particularly the breakfast staff and cleaners.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel while vacationing with my spouse in Amsterdam. The room was clean, quite and well stocked. While the hotel seems far from city center, it is a is very easy walk to the RAI train station. That makes it easy access from the Central train station, the Schipol Airport and City Center (3 separate systems that all meet there). The center of the city can be reached within 15-20 minutes using the city Tram #4 and you can buy the ticket on the tram (7 Euro for 24 hr pass) and use on any tram to get all over the city. You can take the tram to the "DAM" stop and then walk to the Anne Frank huis (house). The Airport train is 2.60 Euro and you MUST have coins not paper money.

Room Tip: Better view from higher floor. For an extra 25 Euro per night, you get free minibar and movies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.