We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous attitude re Pricing and commercial inflexibility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #87 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculous attitude re Pricing and commercial inflexibility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Very dissatisfied with the lack of commercial attitude and unflexibility.
The "promotionnal" price I had initially booked through the website for my 1st night (a Sunday, when the hotel was almost empty), was eventually increased by €60 just because I came to attend a conference. And the so-called conference price for the rest of the stay was discounted by less than 10% of the public full price obtained from the Accor website. So overall I only saved €10 on a €800 hotel bill for attending the conference: absolutely ridiculous and the worst thing is that there was NO WAY to discuss or speak to a supervisor (in spite of my asking there were just repeating like robots "sorry this is not possible"), to get the price for that 1st night back to its initial price.
It's a shame as other than that the hotel offers good standards (but obviously not cheap!)
That was a very ill advised attitude from the Novotel reception staff. Accor should know that they're not going to see me before long in their hotels and that I have widely publicized the story to friends and social networks I'm part of, and also let the organizers of the conference in my company know abt this and my dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Sir,

I thank you for your feedback.
I would highly appreciate it if you could send me your contact details to allow me to clarify this inconvenient situation personaly. You may send the information to the following e-mail address H0515-AM1@accor.com.

Sincerely
NOVOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    763
    231
    59
    25
See reviews for
368
324
92
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

They've recently renovated the lobby, and it shows. It has a "modern Dutch design" feel complete with molded plastic furniture and bright green tones. The restaurant and breakfast buffet are also very nice (which is good, because there's very little else around).

Fortunately, the Metro is close, and you can get to the city in a flash, as well as connect to trains all over.

But the room, while not bad, had a constant smell of mold (from the bathroom) and barely room to store our suticases. The bed was one of the hardest I've ever slept in (a plus if you like a hard bed, but I don't). Keep in mind, this was one of the more expensive rooms in the property. We tried to spend as much time as possible outside of our room, since the mold aggravated my allergies. I was happy for the free wi-fi; however, it went out quite often - once, we had to ask the staff to correct it 3 times before they got it to work again.

Room Tip: Try to find a room without the moldy smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is located within relative walking distance of Amsterdam Zuid station and this business district. It does not have a shuttle service which would be very useful. The staff are friendly but not all are effective. When ordering table service at the bar we found the staff very slow and unresponsive. The staff at reception and the room service staff were better. The rooms themselves are relatively straightforward. However, there is no ironing facility in the room. Instead one must be ordered. Also, for a hotel in the business district and with little in the way of amenities close by there is no entertainment in the bar etc. This makes it somewhat bland. Overall, I would recommend it for anyone working in the business district but not for a long stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

It's near Station RAI that is 2 stops from Schipol Airport and where the Tram n.4 leave fro the center of the city (25 min) so it's located in an excellent position for business trip and also to visit the city (Tram n.4 leaves the city center at maximum half past midnight).
the hotel is pretty new - very clean and confortable; wonderfull breakfast in the morning with all you could expect: from all cookies species to the real american breakfast!

Room Tip: standard is just enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very comfortable nice hotel. Although located further out from city center, it is conveniently only a 10-15 minute ride into the heart of the city (Central Station) from the tram terminus, which is ~250 meters from the hotel entrance. From Central Station, there are convenient connections to every major attraction in Amsterdam. Hotel has a very child friendly policy compared to most other hotels. We chose this hotel because our 8 year old son's stay and breakfast came at no extra cost. We were pleasantly surprised when, in addition, he was given chocolate treats and coloring sheets to keep him happy at breakfast. Not much recreational facility here, though, except for a small room with an X-box. Sadly, it was not working throughout our 10 day stay, and none of the staff we asked could get it working so we gave up after several attempts. Nonetheless, it was an enjoyable stay and great value for money especially for a family with a young child.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Suited our three days stay in Amsterdam perfectly. Close to tramstation, 15 min ride to center, quiet location, nothing to see in the neighborhood. Breakfast was ok, but there was a line to get in the restaurant friday and saturday morning. Dined in hotel first night, ok but nothing more than ok. Free use of Mac in the lobby, free wirelees in hotel room. In room and hallway the carpets neeeds a change.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Amsterdam City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.