We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fusion food for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Yin

Kam Yin
Warmoesstraat 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 6253115
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,017 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Caribbean, Chinese, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fusion food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I ran in this restruant accidentally, and was very pleased indeed.
The served food is great value for money.
the restruant offers an interesting culinary - a fusion between asian, carribean and suriname food.
Sadly, the restruant atmosphere is pretty poor and not inviting - which may lead to false assumptions on the place's quality.
I deffinetaly enjoyed the food and came again several times again during my visit in AMS.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    24
    51
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decor and layout gives this place more of a cafe feel than a restaurant but there is no denying the excellent value for money it offers, even drinks are reasonably priced by Amsterdam standards.
We loved the food here and visited it a couple of times during our visit, the service was somewhat lacking but we find this common in most Chinese restaurants, never mind a Chinese restaurant in the Netherlands!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food for a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Whenever I go to Amsterdam, I make sure to stop by Kam Yin to have a Moksi Meti (mixed meat) with bami. :-) Oh yeah, and a pink Fernandez ("Cherry bouquet") soft drink as well. No need to get any starters here while you wait for your main course, because some five minutes after you've ordered, your meal will be served. If you're looking for a romantic dinner for two, you might want to go somewhere else, though, because the atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. This being said, many Surinamese go to eat there, and if if it's good enough for them, it's certainly good enough for me as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a restaurant with a constant quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This Chinese restaurant isn't the coziest one for a couple in love, but that wouldn't be a problem if the food is good - in other words not rotten. Unfortunately that happened to us. However, I have eaten on other occasions a good diner here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tasty Surinamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at this no frills restaurant on our first evening in Amsterdam as we wanted to try Surinamese food which is a fusion of Chinese/Indonesian food. The restaurant was very busy but we managed to get a table for the two of us without having to wait. We started with hot and sour soup which was delicious and then I had a chicken and rice dish while my husband opted for noodles and chicken. The food was very tasty and there was plenty of it. Our bill for the two courses with drinks came to 31 euros! No wonder the queue for tables soon build up. Would definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Yin also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kam Yin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Yin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.