We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy Sports bar but amazing ribs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Satellite Sports Cafe

Satellite Sports Cafe
Leidseplein 11, 1017PS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
0204272529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,907 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Touristy Sports bar but amazing ribs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was late evening that we came across this lively area on Leidseplein, with lots of restaurants. Would've never thought of eating dinner at a sports bar, but the "eat all you can ribs for 9.99 euros" sign definitely did the trick! I was a little concerned about quality/taste of the food, but one bite into the juicy and well-seasoned ribs was enough to know that we'd found a good place to eat with a reasonable price. Not sure about the other items in the menu, but the ribs were really good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    119
    85
    45
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly service, reasonable prices for ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We did both have breakfast here as well as a ribs dinner and schnitzel the next day. I cannot fully relate to other reviewers about bad service. We were attended very friendly during both visits. My girlfriend enjoyed the ribs very much, and the first serving is already quite enough for a normal person. The schnitzel was not more than OK. A bit dry but overall fine.
in the end you get large drinks for ice tea or orange juice and yes they charge 2 euro for tab water. So expect a total breakfast bill of 15-20 euro per person. But dinner is not much more expensive, and that is reasonable for dining in the Centre of a European capital city. We just came from Paris, and things are different there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Needed a good breakfast after a night out. It wasn't great. The food was very cheap and greasy. Wouldn't eat here again or recommend it. Had the full english and it was just salt and grease on a plate. Quite pricey for the bad quality. The full english cost $11.
Don't visit if you can help it. The menus and tables all a bit sticky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Perfect place where to find good food,good service and cozy atmosphere!
The place was really crowded but the waitress found us(me and my friend) a table in less than five minutes!
We also had breakfast there and the pancakes were absolutely delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
631 reviews 631 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“RIBBBBBBBS!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of the best dinner deals in town. This all you can eat (9.95 euros) Rib place serves then to perfection. The atmosphere is cozy and with TV screens all around with continuos games, events, etc. Outdoor seating ok. This place is for the younger crouds but friendly to mature people. Service is fast & friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satellite Sports Cafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Satellite Sports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satellite Sports Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.